#11 Retiring Teacher preparing to teach in China (Photos from the early visit)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
February 28th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Hot-Pot The Hot-Pot The Hot-Pot

The hot-pot is a meal of fresh vegetables and various fresh meats, boiled until done to individual taste. It reminded me somewhat of the Fondues of Switzerland.
If there are any native English-speakers with college degrees, opportunities are available to teach at many educational institutions all around China. From private English Academies to State Universities, efforts are made throughout China to recruit English speaking teachers for 1 month to 1 year contracts or longer. You may wish to review my previous blogs for more information about my experiences so far with Taizhou Teachers College near Shanghai, and follow my entries as I continue to prepare to leave for China in May. In the mean time, permit me to post a few additional photos from my visit this past summer. I hope you will enjoy them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Chinese Wedding PhotoChinese Wedding Photo
Chinese Wedding Photo

The photographer captures the bride in very typical western wedding-gown.
one-child policyone-child policy
one-child policy

Though controversial in the West, the one child policy seems acceptable to most Chinese I spoke with. They are willing to balance sufficient food and housing with fewer births, to provide greater stability for the 1.4 billion mouths to house and to feed. They call each of their child "The Little Emperor"
Visit with a monkVisit with a monk
Visit with a monk

For an hour, this monk spoke to Arthur Lee and myself, though I could not understand a word, his enthusiasm was captivating.
Temple OfferingsTemple Offerings
Temple Offerings

I visited many temples, none were closed to me, and all were shown to me by monks with great pride. I also visited a number of Catholic Churches whose front door were open for anyone to step inside.


Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 18; qc: 137; dbt: 0.1355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb