Days 11-12...Still a week behind


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
September 8th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It turns out that The Feitz is the place to be on Saturday night if you are a foreigner. I have met a few more Americans, including a guy named Kevin from Wisconsin who is teaching kindergardeners!!! I am having trouble enough as it is teaching 11 to 13 year-olds. I have also met a few guys from Turkey, some French, Australians a girl from Iran, a few Swiss...the list keeps going. They sell "Meters of Tequila" - which is a cricket bat with holes drilled in it that fit 10 shot glasses of tequila. I had a shot with 9 other foreign teachers, danced, chatted and had Li Quan beer (which is made using water from the Li River here in Guilin). I figure the alcohol kills anything bad in the water, right? I felt awful Sunday morning. I didn't even have much to drink, a couple beers and a shot knocked me off my feet.

I spent most of Sunday in bed sleeping. In the evening, I went to the night market downtown with the guys. I anticipated a dirty version of the Des Moines Farmers' Market...with men and women selling meats, fruits and vegetables out of carts and off blankets laid out on the sidewalk. I was a little disappointed when I found that it was about 4 (American) blocks worth of tents selling tourist trinkets and cheap clothes. I had my first successful bargaining transaction...and saved almost 40 quai ($6). After we made it through the night market, we went in search of the Twin Pagodas at the center of the downtown area. The Pagodas represent the Sun and the Moon, and sit in the middle of a big lake. It was very beautiful...although, admittedly, a little bit Disney with lots of colored lighting everywhere. The bridge over the Li River is covered with blue neon lights, and small clock and bell towers line the Li on either side of the main bridge. They, too, are covered in red, blue and white neon lights. It's a little showey...but still quite breath-taking.

Advertisement



8th September 2009

No photos!? Your description is lovely, but I would also like to see the lights, pagodas, lakes, bridges and markets. What did you bargain for?
8th September 2009

helloooooo
Hi, Clare! Sounds like you are having a great time, and meeting others who, I am sure will become good friends throughout this teaching experience of yours. My hope is some of these will become life-long friends, as well, as you journey through your life experiences. My intent in receiveing these posts from you, will be used as a bit of an educational tool for the kids. Tonight, I plan to show them the flag, a map, (on your blog) and talk about your connections with what you post. had a great wknd. The weather was lovely here, and we went to the farm, picked pears and apples, and grant took over the grilling responsibilities since your dad was at the lake with the chase's. back in school today. Rider and I are off on a run on this lovely, warm Iowa late summer's day. love you. aunt annie.
16th September 2009

The Feitz has a website
And the address is : http://www.lefeitz.cn
20th September 2009

Bargaining at the Night Market
You will just have to wait and see what I bargained for. It's not as cool as the real thing...but I'll hang onto it for a while, and eventually it will be old.
28th September 2009

Skype
I'm available most mornings...that's evenings for you. I could skype Thursday morning at about 8...That would be Wednesday evening at 7 in the states. I haven't heard from many people back home. So far, I've just been getting emails from Kelly, and I've skyped with my parents and my aunt Annie. It would be great to see you and hear about your 21st!!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb