Seeing Shapes


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Elephant Trunk HillElephant Trunk HillElephant Trunk Hill

It really doesn't look that much like an elephant.
I went to Guilin from YangShuo on Monday, planning to take an 18-hr Tuesday night sleeper to Kunming, from where I would take a 4 hr bus to Dali in the Yunnan Province.

Soon after arriving in Guilin, I regretted my plan to spend almost 2 whole days there. I kept busy the first day, meeting a Chinese girl in my hostel who wanted to see Elephant Trunk Hill with me. After that, we walked through Seven Stars Park to see the crazily-lit caves. It's like a huge spectacle, and not actual nature (though it's fun... almost like seeing shadow puppets and guessing what they represent!).

Tuesday was just bad weather, so I indulged in two ice cream cones from KFC and wandered about town, only to find that the only food they have is Guilin MiFen. Every corner. And not just the corners... almost every third shop. The noodles may be famous, but a little variety wouldn't hurt anyone!

Disaster struck when I got in a cab to the train station - it started pouring, and my 10 minute ride turned into 40 minutes... I arrived at the train station at 4:50pm and sprinted to my 4:53pm
Bamboo RaftBamboo RaftBamboo Raft

I took a bamboo raft like this to see various rock formations with very specific names given to abstract shapes...
train... which closed its doors and started moving right as I reached the platform. I was so angry! There's only one train a day to Kunming, so I grabbed my bags and booked a plane flight for that night. No way I was staying in Guilin any longer than I had to!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The TigerThe Tiger
The Tiger

It only looks vaguely like a tiger because they added an eye. This is why this cave is so silly. It's not about the natural formations and how they occurred, but rather about what shapes they have created. Insert garish backlighting, and you have the Chinese caving experience in a nutshell!
Group of PeopleGroup of People
Group of People

Look at the black in this image. Looks like people silhouetted. The tour group actually gasped when the lights were turned on! Hehe.
The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

Amazing that cave formations can make anything that looks like this one!
Two PandasTwo Pandas
Two Pandas

I saw two live pandas (very close up!) but was forbidden from taking pictures. So, I had to capture YangYang and YueYue in this way.
The Chinese Webcafe ExperienceThe Chinese Webcafe Experience
The Chinese Webcafe Experience

They can PACK people in. And every one of them is playing Warcraft.


1st August 2008

Well, you told me to comment!
These are some fantastic pictures! You made good choices on what to post. And really now, why are you going to KFC? You should get local green tea icecream stuff instead. Yup.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb