The 'Picturesque' China I had so hoped for; and someother things I did not


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cave1Cave1Cave1

This is just... Words are hard to find to explain
Well, we have finnally made it to, as the title says, the 'Picturesque' China I had hoped for. With weird green moutain formations, little villages, and lots and lots and lots of tourist information centers (almost none speak english and they are all selling the same thing: 'Boat cruise down the Li River...'; its too bad that when we really need them they turn out to be this way). But it ok, I think we got ourselves a resonably priced boat and if the man shows up with a boat then its all good.
We got to Guilin this morning fairly early, maybe 6 - 6:30, we then spent the next couple hours being hagled to death by leeches trying to take our money. It's sad in a way, that it is like this, but I guess everyone wants to make a buck. It is very interesting to me to see that the majority of the tourists here are all Chinese. I never thought about it, but it makes sence. I mean, in the States most the people at our national parks are Americans, so naturally with a population so much larger than ours, there should be many many
Cave2Cave2Cave2

Randy and I in a huge cave, I would know more but our tour was in Chinese
Chinese tourists here (which there are...).
The city of Guilin has been taken over by the tourist industry, so we are hoping to get away from it a little tomorrow after our boat ride to Yangshou. A smaller more beautiful area, so we hear. So I am hopeful. I have some great pictures of the cave we went and saw today. I don't have any of the weird moutain formation I was taking about because my camera ran out of batteries. I will try and get Randy's soon to put up some pictures, becides tomorrow on the cruise we should get many great shots (unless it is crazy raining, like it has been the past couple days).
I still have very mixed feeling about the Chinese. They are so nice sometimes; and so different the next. I don't want to say mean, becuase I don't think they want to be. I just think we view things differently (of course). Today we met the nicest man, who spoke very good english, he gave us good advice and wanted to have tea with us later. We agreed and in a couple hours we met up with him again. He said he was a teacher and was going to NYU to teach in January. He took us all around, told us many things, and just as we were thinking he was great (didn't want to take our money) he took us to 'his' art studio. Here he showed us his art work and that of his students and teacher. He then asked what we like the most. I said one and from there on it was a sales call with commision in big letters writen all over his forehead. I would have bought one I felt so abligated; but thankfully Randy saved me again, and dragged me out with as little embarrassment as possible.
So now we know: Everyone has a reason. But right after that a woman helped us then walked away; I don't know why. I guess people can still be nice. I don't know, and can't think about it anymore. Here, I will put some pictures up to last you another day or so before I get some really great ones.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb