I made it!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
August 24th 2008
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This will be short and sweet. Or so I say...
Perhaps "to the point" is more accurate.

I made it.
But my luggage has not.

The United guy in the Phoenix airport kept yelling "Thai Food!!" which I coulnd't figure out how that would lead to a flight delay. Food? Thailand?

Ohhhhhh, TYPHOON.
That would explain a 19 hour delay.
And my need to get a very expensive hotel room. With 2 new friends in the same situation. We even had a doorman and the room had a fluffy bathrobe!

And why I, "might want to pick up my bag in San Fran." "Might" does NOT imply that you will only check it thru to San Fran. And that I need to pick it. Or else. At least to me it doesn't.
No, it implies that it will still be labeled for HK. And I can rough it with my carry-on.
Or that when I and my new friends don't see our luggage lying around after confirming in the baggage claim area that we can leave it overnight (like everyone else). And that you will put it on my plane or at least know where it is or that it exists when I have to come down at 7 am the next day and search with you. Not that it will still be lost.
Or that you will at least pretend to care.
Especially when James, Amy, and I are staring you down. James was kind enough to stick it out with me until I left for security while Amy went on ahead to make sure they knew we were coming.

But at least with my layover I did get to see my cousin and meet his lovely wife and adorable 5 month old daughter. Dinner was fantastic! I had shrimp and salmon with pasta in a saffron cream sauce. And a black and tan. Life was good.

So then we circled for an hour waiting to land because the HK airport had been closed the day before so the flight pattern was full. But the Chicago group got diverted to Taipei. I don't know how late they got in.
Then we got our luggage and and hour and a half later (and in my case, 5 unanswered phone calls to United later) we boarded the bus. For a 3 hour busride.
This included customs. Where I helped one girl with her 3 overweight suitcases and 3 carry-ons through customs in exchange for clothing I have yet to receive. How is it that they can get all of her stuff her, but my ONE 49lb bag (one lb under the limit) gets lost? sigh.
We got in around 11pm and ate and slept. 22 hours on the road will do that.

But I have NO jet lag.
seriously. none. I feel like I won!







Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



26th May 2009

oyster fields
Those "fishing boats" are actually oyster fields.. :D
31st May 2009

LOL
Thanks--I had no idea! (None of us did.)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb