The Family


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Taishan
December 23rd 2017
Published: December 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today was the last day in Taishan for Kate and I. Her father really wanted me to visit the village where he himself grew up from. Before him, his father lived there. And before that, his father lived there. The rural village was roughly only 30 minutes away and he told me when he lived there, there was a community of 200 people. Now, today since he still owns the original home, the village only has about 10 people. Upon arriving there, I noticed that the village has been kept in the same shape as it was 100 years ago just like how it was founded. The houses were extremely old, limited running water, and poor infrastructure. (see photos). Her father wanted to bring me here to pay respect to the Lin ancestors. Upon entering the house, I saw what was remaining, a couple pieces of old furniture and a shrine dedicated to his ancestors. We gave thanks to them by offering food and burning incense. It was my first time and it reminded me that the Yang family also has a shrine in Shanghai where I should go visit someday.

After giving respect to the ancestors, we headed home to pick up some of Kate's family members to go and celebrate her grandfathers 83rd birthday. Shortly after, we went back home to hang out for the afternoon, playing wiffle ball and eating the remaining chickens I had to eat.. After a last dinner meal with the family, we decided to get a massage at the nearby plaza and call it a night. Japan calls for me...and my wallet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb