Pinch and a Punch


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
April 1st 2008
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 22.53, 114.13

Mel - We had a buffet breaky at the hotel this morning. It was amazing - the orange juice, whilst still orange cordial - was actually cold. They do not believe in cold drinks here in China at all. The milk for my cereal was still warm, but when Pa came in 10 minutes later, they had out a new jug of milk that was cold. When I say milk, I do mean a powdered substance that they call milk. It's OK on cereal, but NOT for drinking by itself!!!!

We went back to our room and I received a text message. As soon as I saw it was from Telstra (of all people) I raced across the room and I WON PINCH AND A PUNCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We then went running to Nana and Pas room, bursting through the door to 'get' them.

We spent the day walking around Shenzhen - we finally found Nintendo DS games for sale - the first place we have found them in China. Of course, once we finally found one stall, we found heaps of them. They had 6 or 8 covers on the counter to draw your attention but when you started to look at
them, they would produce a pile of booklets about 7cm high that come with the games. As you near the bottom of the pile and obviously haven't found what you want, another pile of booklets comes out - then another!!!!!!! I had been carrying a Nintendo around for the last week in case we found some games and had almost taken it out of my backpack this morning as I felt we were not going to find any and I didn't need the extra weight on my back.

Mel was able to buy a couple of games, so she was very happy.

We went into a supermarket for a look as well as a department store. Avon is purchased over the counter here - next to Lamcome (think that's how it's spelt) and Revlon etc. Tupperware is also found in shops or in the supermarket. I guess taking Avon catalogues door to door here would be impossible!!!!!!

Kate - We decided to go to the take-a-way restaurant 'Kungfu' for lunch. I can't say much except NEVER AGAIN. The food was very bland as was definitely 'fast food'. The noodles tasted mostly of water.......................... I don't want to think about it, so I won't write any more!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb