I think I just signed my soul over to UPS


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
October 13th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

There goes my soul!There goes my soul!There goes my soul!

One of the many signed letters for UPS sealed with my thumbprint.
...and that's not a Friday the 13th joke. The organization I work for shipped some Chinese learning books to me here in Shenzhen, and of course they got stuck in customs. (Note to anyone traveling to or living in China: Never have anything important or valuable sent to you here. It's always a hassle. Last year, it took my friend 2 months to convince the customs agent that, yes, 1 pair of American blue jeans can indeed cost $80.) My package contains 6 books - three sets of 2 - for three teachers to use in their Chinese class.

So, the other day, someone from UPS calls me and explains to me that I need to fill out some paperwork to get the package cleared through Chinese customs. The man on the phone told me his English name is Aaron and he spoke decent English. But, it still took two phone calls lasting about 20 minutes for him to get to the point of the calls, which was, "I'm sending you the documents by email but they are in Chinese so someone will need to help you fill them out."

Fast forward to today, when I finally get around
You are getting very sleepy...You are getting very sleepy...You are getting very sleepy...

Don't be fooled by it's similarity to a Dr. Seuss book illustration. This was a delicious new treat from today's lunch. It's a steamed bun filled with a sweet taro paste. I can always count on Judy for a tasty lunch.
to asking my Chinese colleague Judy to help me fill out the forms. I arrived at her office at 11:15. I explained the situation and luckily it's one she's encountered before so we get to work filling out the paperwork and writing the letters of explanation for both UPS and Chinese customs. Four hours later, we finally get it all put together. (That does include an hour for lunch.) After several drafts and a few phones calls to Aaron, we finally have the perfect set of forms and letters.

Now comes the weird part. It isn't enough that I sign the forms. I have to stamp my thumbprint in red ink next to my signature on all the documents. I'd like to point out that in three years, I've never had to put my thumbprint on anything, not even on the Chinese visa applications, of which I've submitted many. Not even on the paperwork for FedEx packages I've helped people fill out. No one in China wants my fingerprints, except UPS. And since the letters are in Chinese and full of technical jargon I can't read, I'm convinced that I actually just signed my soul over to UPS.
Had a bad day?Had a bad day?Had a bad day?

I love living in a country where preparation for the standard "You-had-a-bad-day-so-I-cooked-you-a-nice-dinner" dinner consists of cooking some pasta, heating up a can of Hunt's spaghetti sauce, and slicing some Wal-Mart bread. It's so easy, yet expensive enough to be considered a special treat.

I thought such a solemn occasion warranted a photograph.

Advertisement



14th December 2006

Hey
I think it's time for you to update your blog ;)

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb