A Taste of Nowism


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
April 30th 2010
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I was SO EXCITED from the news I just received I needed to write a blog just to give a PERFECT example of Nowism in China. One may ask what is Nowism? Well I heard about it while preparing to come to China and didn't quite expect it to happen as often or at ridiculous times as it does.

Today I taught my last 3 classes of the week before we get off next Monday-Thursday. (Still jealous that Pete taught 3 of his 10 classes this week and was done on Tuesday) Believe me it was not a strenuous week for me at all since I was just showing Mr Bean Holiday to my students. If I would have tried to teach a lesson the week before mid terms they wouldn't have paid attention, only studied so I didn't fight it and gave them a fun and relaxing class. The last class today asked me "Miss Elyse, since it is our last class together before mid terms can we play basketball outside?" My response "sure it is sunny and perfect weather outside LETS GO!!!"

Ok back to Nowism. Before I left school today I verified that we had Monday-Thursday off due to Labor Day on Monday and exams Tuesday-Thursday. Do we have to teach on Friday was my question. Yes you have to teach on Friday. I asked "Do you have the new schedule since the students will all be changing classes?" Response "Friday same schedule, then Monday new schedule." I asked again "Do you have the new schedule for Monday then?" Response "Be Patient not made yet"

OK OK I am the rude American thinking you would have the schedule made but after almost 9 months of living in China I still haven't changed them. LOL.

Fast forward to 7:30pm Friday night. I get a called from Kathleen who is another foreign teacher that teaches at another high school in our neighborhood. She has been told by 3 other CTLC(our program) teachers that the 3 day weekend for Labor Day is NOW a 5 day weekend. Her and her boyfriend Jason have been off school this week since Monday due to their mid term exams being this week. She called 2 different people from their school to ask if the holiday had been changed. Yes they told her you don't have to teach until Thursday now.

I then text James Jones, CTLC National Coordinator here in Shenzhen, to see if he can verify with the Education Bureau if the holiday was changed. His exact words "I can not because the bureau is unsure. You will have to call your contact teacher since I have no authority." Remember it is Friday night around 7:40pm.

Ok now I have to call my not so reliable contact teacher to see if he actually knows if the holiday was changed(he usually doesn't know much) and if he actually picks up his phone because normally he doesn't and no voicemail in China.

I called Wilson and he picked up. Our conversation "Wilson, I was told by Ping Gang HS foreign teachers that the holiday was changed from 3 to 5 days" Wilson replies "Yes, Senior 1 now has 5 days off(Sat-Wed)" I then said "When are their exams since they were to be Tues-Thurs?" Long pause "Ah Thursday and Friday. You don't have to teach during exams, enjoy your time off." YES YES YES. We had already booked our flight from Sunday-Sunday and were going to have to call in sick from Taiwan or say we missed our flight, but now we just get the day off. SWEET.

This is why I love teaching English in China and you will get to learn about Nowism through our experiences.

Have a great weekend!!!!



Advertisement



1st May 2010

taste of nowism
The good Lord took care of your details....no more sickness on Thursday evening!!!!!!! Enjoy and 5 day holiday it is!!!!
5th May 2010

It's your birthday!
I think you're a day ahead so you would have already celebrated your birthday or maybe you're a day behind - who knows. Love the lesson on Nowism - hope you're having a great time on your trip to Taiwan - HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb