The Earthquake and the Rest of the Week


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
April 23rd 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been one of those weeks where it feels like everything has happened and nothing has happened at the same time. As you know by now, there was an earthquake in Qinghai province April 14. Qinghai is in the far west of the country, next to Tibet, and nowhere near me. So I'm fine.

China mobilized pretty quickly, and from what I've read online, this earthquake is being handled more quickly and a bit better than the Sichuan one in 2008. So that's good. Fewer deaths is always a good thing. Hu Jintao flew to the scene of the earthquake within 90 minutes of learning about it. Monks traveled to help find survivors and lay the dead in the monasteries. Then the army arrived to help, too.


The nation had memorial services last Wednesday all over the country. I think we all had them at the same time, but I'm not sure. You could not turn on the TV without seeing memorial services from around the country, fellow countrymen and women with their heads bowed in silence.


The teachers at my school all wore black or white. Many public websites were colorless. There was a somber mood everywhere.


At our service we did four things: we raised the flag to half mast; had a few speeches and a dramatic reading; we donated money; and we had a moment of silence. First our flag bearers marched in and raised the flag to half mast, just like we do in the US. Roy said they do the same thing in Australia. Then some select students gave a dramatic reading that was very emotional and intense. (But it was in Chinese, so I didn't understand most of it.) One of our head directors gave a speech that left many of the faculty and some students sniffling and tearing by the end. (Again, in Chinese, so I only understood the mood, not the meaning.) Then all the teachers and administrators walked up and put enveloped money in a box. Then a representative from each class walked up and stuffed a large envelope into the box. Everyone in our school--even the cooks and cleaners who ran out in the middle of their lunch-prep--contributed. Then we held a moment of silence for a full minute. Yes, over 1100 students were silent. So were the teachers.

It was moving.

You may have read reports that people were told how much to give. The staff at my school were, but it was a reasonable amount. I, as a teacher but not a party member, was suggested to give 100 RMB, or about $15. There's no one on the staff that can't afford that. I'm not keen on having an amount suggested, but at the same time, I do see their thinking behind it.


Otherwise, I've been keeping busy with teaching (shocking, I know) and Chinese class. My teacher is going at breakneck speed and it's hard to keep up and understand. Last term we studied one chapter every 2-3 classes, but this term it's every 1-2 classes! I barely learn the vocabulary and start the homework and I've got a new chapter to read!


Friday night (the 23rd) I went out for dinner and we were lucky enough to meet my friend's new boyfriend from Hong Kong. He's a really nice guy who clearly adores my friend. Then, at the last minute, just as I was about to board my subway train home, I said, "to hell with it, I'm only young once!" (is there a time limit on saying that?) and took the train in the opposite direction! Why, you ask? I had another friend DJing on the other side of the city. I'd never actually seen him perform and I wasn't familiar with Drum and Bass music (it's British and a bit like electronica). So I went, I danced, I danced, and then I realized it was nearly 3 am.

And I went home.






Advertisement



27th April 2010

I really enjoyed your China post! It's so nice to be able to hear someone's firsthand account of what's happening there right now, after the earthquake. I know that people have trouble accessing certain websites from there, but my travel blog is looking for photos, stories, etc, to share. If you have the time, and are able to, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb