I'm Thankful For...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
November 26th 2009
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

-The fact that I work at a Chinese high school. What does this mean? It means, my friends, that at least once a week I get to groove to a Backstreet Boys, Destinys Child, Christina Aguilera or some other old school pop song blaring from the loudspeakers as our students practice breakdancing in the courtyard. This also means that whenever I walk anywhere on campus I get at LEAST 200 giggles, waves and "HI STACI!" yells. How can you not love that?

-China style Thanksgiving dinners with wonderful friends who were strangers just a few months ago. We're having our own Thanksgiving dinner Friday night in Yantian with 3 other couples- yay for turkey, fake turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, stuffing, the works. It's definitely not an easy feat to get all this food in China- 2 of the couples went to Hong Kong last weekend and did some wonderous shopping. Don't worry, we'll wash it all down with 50cent Tsingtao beer.

-The invention of webcams that allow me to video chat with my parents, friends, siblings...even my 3 year old nephew and 6 year old niece. Ahh, technology, I love you.

-A husband I never stop laughing with.

...And many, many, MANY other things.

Happy Thanksgiving to all. Hope you are healthy and with your loved ones. 😊 With the holiday season upon us, I hope everyone (myself included) can let go of those petty things in life and just enjoy what really matters- family, friendship, health, laughter and love.

Advertisement



26th November 2009

You say it so well....
We are thankful to have met you and Martin. We can't wait to celebrate tomorrow night.
26th November 2009

Happy Thanksgiving Guys!! Have a wonderful Dinner with Friends this weekend and Know that we will think of you while eating our own dinner. :)
26th November 2009

amen to that!
We are thankful for being blessed with family and friends also and to have gained some new family members--the Togs! We are thankful that you boht have made such good friends to celebrate with in China and that the people there at the school treat you both so well...enjoy the gobbling:)

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb