Rain, rain, go away...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 14th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Any Chinese person: "How you like weather in China?"
Staci & Martin: Oh, it is very hot. Very different for us. We are used to rain and colder temperatures.
Any Chinese person today: "How you like weather in China? It rain a lot today!"
Staci & Martin: Yes, it is VERY rainy. We are used to rain, but not like this.

Yes, folks, our first tropical storm is upon us. And it's crazy. At this point, I must copy a paragraph written by a fellow travelblogger (I went to find blogs in the Seattle area, and stumbled upon this stranger's blog, who summed up Seattle's weather problems quite well):

However, this is not a normal month for Seattle. But then again, nothing in Seattle ever seems to be normal. When I first came here I was warned that it rained all the time. Then, after a few months I remarked that it really hadn’t rained at all, in fact, it has only really rained once since I’ve been here (and that was hilarious because nobody seemed to be able to comprehend what a thunderstorm can be like). In response my friend simply said that it has been unusually dry this year. Then, in winter I was told that it would be cold all the time but it would probably not snow at all in the city, until of course it snowed constantly for a week and we all went skiing in the streets (I love snow, so for one week I didn’t even notice that it was cold, even when I had to wait two hours for a bus that didn’t arrive). To this they remarked that it was an unusually snowy winter. Last summer? It was unusually short. This summer? Unusually hot. Either global warming is making a surgical strike on Seattle alone or people here have goldfish memories.

Thank you, random travelblog stranger. That cracked me up, and feels so right on. Oh, Seattle.

So, really, what IS Seattle weather like? I'm beginning to think I don't really know. I've been in China for only about a month and already I can tell you with almost complete certainty that it's going to rain soon. Tropical Storm Koppu is apparently headed toward Hong Kong, and that's what we're experiencing part of and--other than completely foiling our plans to meet up with our nephew's former preschool teacher from Portland who is teaching in Shenzhen at an international school-- it's sort of fun. I'm soaked to the bone, my sandals aren't quite adequate for walking around slippery campus and the wind broke one of our umbrellas, but I'm all for a night in with a book to read while you listen to the sounds of the rain. If only it were cold enough for me to also enjoy some hot chocolate.





Advertisement



14th September 2009

Love you attitude about the weather Staci...after all...it is what it is...and you just find a way to deal with it. Except for being wet...at least you're not cold! Hunker down and stay safe!
15th September 2009

Seattle weather still pretty much the same as you left it over a month ago...think it would be cooler by now? nah. at this rate fall will be during winter time, and maybe we'll just skip over winter this year (unlike last year). Yup, there is no "Seattle" weather anymore, it can't make up is mind.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb