Cafeteria Food=WORST Case of Food Poisoning


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After Pete was up until 5am last night with the WORST case of food poisoning I have witnessed in my life, I am ready for a afternoon nap. If you can imagine both ends for over 12 hours and not even being able to keep down water that was Pete's night last night. ENOUGH SAID!!!!

We both had to teach classes today at 11am but it actually worked out so he didn't have to go to school. On Wednesday, Pete went to teach Class 1 but it was my Class 1. The teacher never interuptted him to say he was in the wrong Class 1 so today that teacher taught my Class 1 section their Geography lesson so they wouldn't have 2 Conversational English lessons this week. I then was able to teach Pete's class at 11:05am this morning cause he was in no shape to teach or even get out of bed.

China is different in the fact that EVERYONE in the English Department knew that Pete taught the wrong class Wednesday, but never walked into the class to tell him. You usually are the last one to know that you did something wrong here. Funny thing is they never explained where our classrooms where in the Senior 1 building Day 1. There are 20 sections of Senior 1(sophomores) Pete has 10 section and I have the other 10 sections. Outside each classroom is a number 1-10 on floors 2-6. Minor detial there is A 1-10 then Jia(a chinese symbol for 1) 1-10 also. Minor detial that would have helped out 2 NEW foreign teachers teaching at your school for a year. Oh well, now we know.

The classes have been a success this week and all the students are pretty well behaved, except for a student that said in my classroom yesterday "Fucking Dammit" when he found out Pete and I were dating/married. We have to live a double life in China due to the fact it isn't widely excepted to live together before you are married. We told the school officials and our students we are married to make our lives easier for this year. Also to hinder the girls from falling in LOVE with Pete and the boys falling in LOVE with me. I received a love letter already in Week 1.

We are now enjoying our weekend that starts at 11:45am on Friday, LOVE IT. Hope Week 2 goes as smoothly in the classroom.



Advertisement



4th September 2009

LOL
I laughed out loud when I read that you've already gotten a love letter. Too funny! Guess those boys aren't shy around the ladies. :)
6th September 2009

I hope Pete is feeling better by now. Not a good way to spend a weekend.

Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb