It's the Little Things Part 九


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 26th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Life back in Shenzhen is somedays uneventful, other days it’s simply amusing. Here are some of the anecdotes that keep it interesting no matter the day.

1. I was riding the bus to the metro station and we pulled up to a red light. We sat there for a bit and I looked out the window. On our left was another city bus. Suddenly, the door to the bus opened. Next thing I knew, the driver was leaning out the door and was yelling up at my driver, who was leaning out his window. They engaged in friendly conversation for about a minute before the other driver turned and returned to his seat, closing the door behind him. The light changed to green and we turned the corner, the other bus now out of sight.

2. I went to the first McDonald’s in China with a friend. We were out shopping and decided a cold drink was in order. In Dongmen (where the McDonald’s is) all the shops are either barely air conditioned or simply aren’t. Many aren’t really indoors, either; rather they’re under a huge roof with temporary walls and are door-less, like stalls.

While we were sitting there, obviously some people looked at me.; I was the only foreigner in the place. At one point, 3 boys with buzzed hair cuts, probably aged 5, came up and stood behind my friend and just looked at me. Then they quickly scampered off. After a few minutes, they returned, stood in a line behind my friend, stared, whispered, and then turned and ran. Then they kept circling the restaurant looking at my table each time. They did one more “stop and line up and stare” before leaving with their family.

3. My computer didn't work in the classroom one day. Rather than sit and stare at me, perhaps expecting me to fix it with a magic wand, I had at least 8 students crammed around the console the houses the computer, all trying to help. I know I would have never seen that when I was in middle school.

4. One of my favorite pastimes is spending time with my friends. If we can spend that time with beer in hand, even better. China allows us to do this while going easy on our wallet.
The other day a group of 7 of us descended upon a corner, neighborhood market. We bought a round of beers, paying about fifty cents per liter. We cracked them open with the opener permenantly afixed to the cooler door. We then sat on picnic tables next to the store, laughing and joking and swapping stories. I think the Chinese people enjoyed watching us, fascinated.

5. When it's time to build something in the US, machines are brought in and workers wear extensive safety gear. When you want to build something in China, shirtless men carry metal beams measuring a car's length--either by themselves or in small groups--up stairs and ramps, through crowds and around obstacles. No one yells to watch out.

6. When Iris's air conditioning in her second floor office stopped working, 2 men were called in to fix it. They both wore tshirts, jeans, and flip-flops. To service the air conditioner, it was required that the unit outside the window be examined.
Did they pull out a ladder? Of course not, because they traveled by bus.
Instead, one of the workers climbed up and leaned out the window. He wore no harness or helmet and his friend didn't hang on to him, either. All that kept him from sliding out were his $1 plastic flip-flops.

7. With National Day nearly here, and it being a big celebration this year, there are red flag everywhere. Last year I saw quite a few, but the quantity paled in comparisson with this year. Every major road and boulevard has 2 rows of flags down the middle or on each side. The flags are spaced only a few car lengths apart. The flags adorn bridges, sidewalks, walkways. There's even a huge mountain-shaped display near the metro station with the flags reaching toward the sky. Today I even saw a display flowers the size of 2 cars presented to look like the flag.
It's hard not to get just a little excited when you walk down the street.

8. Roy and I regifted some mooncakes to our Muslim noodles people. Roy had received a large quantity as a gift and couldn't eat them all. So, in order to show our appreciation for all the delicious food they prepare for us, and the great service they give us, we shared them.
The box was taped up so well that they had to take a butcher knife to it to get it open. (I'm blaming that on Roy.)
And ever since, our service has been even better. Sometimes they greet me in English.

9. Today I sat next to an old woman on the subway. She was clearly visiting her grandchilden, both of whom stood, looming over her. She wore a blue cotton hat, like the women did in Yunnan this summer. Her shoes were black cloth with embroidery. Here eyes were tiny, her jaw set. She seemed relaxed but uncomfortable. She smelled faintly of something but I couldn't figure out what.
Then I figured it out: honey.

10. As I walked home from the bus stop I passed a spot where yesterday they were cleaning up a green spill on the sidewalk. Tonight, to make sure no one stepped in what 's left of the mess, someone had put up red and white tape. It was afixed to the storefront and to part of a chair. The chair rested on a step, missing its legs and arms. Its back relcines all the way, so it lays flat.
And I didnt' think twice, I just walked around it.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb