One Month in Shenzhen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
August 13th 2009
Published: August 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cindy & MeCindy & MeCindy & Me

my fabulous assistant
Hello Everyone! So it has been about a month since I left...I can't believe it..... and everything is going A. O.K. I have learned a little bit of Chinese (and I mean very very little), enough to get me a cup of coffee with milk at Starbucks at least. I swear to you, Chinese has to be the most difficult language in the world to learn and understand, and to top it off I don't have the luxury of the alphabet to fall back on because of course they only use Chinese symbols for eeeeverything. It's like a cruel and unusual joke from God. Other than that, I am slowly getting used to everything; the people (who crowd me everywhere I go) the transportation (I take the bus twice a day) the constant starring from everyone (like I have two heads or something), the food (only Chinese food) which I find quite good, the cheapness (everything, I'm tellin ya!) which I also find good, and the heat (constant extreme humidity day and night). But overall, I really am loving this city. It is just so full of life. The nightlife is great. Fun bars and restaurants everywhere. Last weekend I went
Greg & TreyGreg & TreyGreg & Trey

My fellow foreign coworkers
salsa dancing at one of the best salsa clubs I've ever been to, and I have been to a lot in my day. Before that, I went to a big bar/club opening and shmooshed it up with the owners, who happened to be Colombian! Free mojitos all night! My one month in Shenzhen has been a lot of fun so far. Work is a bit daunting at times (imagine running after and screaming at thirty 2 year olds all day long), but it's work, so what can ya do... I'm just so happy vacation time has finally come. Thailand here I come! I leave tomorrow for two weeks with Christopher. I will keep everyone posted on all the adventures. Misses and kisses. -rox


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

BarsBars
Bars

Bar street in Coco Park
California PhoCalifornia Pho
California Pho

Come to Asia for California Asian Cuisine
My Wonderful KidsMy Wonderful Kids
My Wonderful Kids

They formed a choo choo train all on their own!


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb