Back in the swing of things


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
February 12th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to believe I've been back a week already. But I am happy to be here. I loved India, but I love China more.

I spent the weekend catching up on sleep, trying to recover from a cold, and I made a trek across the street to see the new Nicole Kidman movie. It was pretty good. The scenery was beautiful. Reminded me a bit of parts of AZ north of Phoenix.

Been working on the India blog steadily, as I'm sure you've noticed. I have a lot written in my journal, so it's mostly a matter of getting it typed up and the pictures sorted. I took 2619 of them (yes, I'm a little shutter happy) so it's a bit of a project. But it's been fun reliving my trip as I do it.

Started classes again on Wednesday. Wed, the first day back, was a bit off for all of us. Just trying to get into the swing of things, I guess. Today went really well. I got evaluated by Iris in my first class this AM. Thankfully it's one of the best classes I've taught yet. The students were all engaged, even raising hands (instead of just shouting out, which I allow since it gets them talking more), and seemed really excited about the lesson. I'm sure it helped that the lesson consisted of me rewarding them with points for everything they could I-Spy in my India pictures! All the "ooh"s and "ahhh"s even made Iris get out of her chair a few times for a better look!

I've been on a soup kick since I got back. Which is odd since I usually don't ever like soup. I've discoverd Campbell's makes a lovely creamy tomato with rice soup. And tonight I acually made a chicken flavored mushroom soup. Granted, this time I cheated and used a small soup mix instead of making it all from scratch, but I doctored it up with onions and garlic and fresh mushrooms.

Oh, and I found some freshly sliced pineapple at Jusco for so cheap... you'll hate me if I tell you how cheap, but let's just say back in Minneapolis it would cost me at least $10 or so at the deli. And you know I didn't pay that much. The one thing I didn't eat in India were fresh fruits and veggies, so it was exactly what I wanted. And it was perfect.

Off to the India blog. How's your reading coming along? Keeping up?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb