"Teacher, you are very white."


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 28th 2008
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As previously stated we have this coming week off for National day; which meant I worked this weekend in an attempt to make up for the vacation. Now personally I think it's kind of a waste, as two days can hardly make much of a difference, and since it is the weekend the kids have already mentally checked out.
Regardless, the days were actually a Monday and Tuesday, odd week. Which means Junior ones and some junior threes. I had one class in particular that were hilarious. There was a pudgy little boy sitting up front who was very into the game we were playing, sitting on the edge of his seat, chearing for all of his teammates, and at one point he started signing "We will rock you."
Now, I was right next to his desk, so I turn to him and ask "Are you singing Queen?" he just giggled and stopped singing. He did break out into a rap song a few minutes later, but I can't remember which one.
Today, in another junior one class, I was walking around checking on their work and a boy says to me.
"Teacher, you are very white," as he points at my arm. To which I replied with a sigh.
"Yes, I know."
So even in China they comment on my freakishly pale skin.
I have also made friends with the baby that lives next door; she is mildly obsessed with me. Yesterday when I came home from class she was out on the landing with her grandma crying like crazy. The second she saw me she stopped crying and just stared. I waved and said hello and she laughed and stared some more. About an hour later I was in my apartment and someone started banging on my door, I opened it and there was the baby, staring and laughing until her grandma scooped her up and apoligized. She did the same thing about an hour after that. Usually when I come home from somewhere, if their door is open and she hears my unlocking mine she will run out onto the landing to get some quality staring in. I am convinced she can't blink.
But all is good as I have a week off! A few of us are going to Hong Kong for a few days as we got our passports at the very last minute and it was hard to plan a real trip. This just means we will save more
money to have a super awesome South-East Asian extravaganza come Chinese New Year.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb