The First Class


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Joe and JohnJoe and JohnJoe and John

At the entranceway to a restaurant. Joe is instrumental to this program beginning, John is my teaching collegue and the fellow who did this last year.
I went for my medical today in order to get my multi entry visa. What an efficient system! I had blood work, ultrasound, an xray, eyes and ear check and more all within 1 1/2 hrs. The Chinese are brilliant at moving crowds. At 2:30 pm, I met my class. A group of 5 came to take me to class, presenting me with a bouquet of roses and carnations. They had made a sign that said 'love' and one of the students, Jacky, welcomed me to the class and said, 'We will be a family." When I entered the room, a video had been set up and 4 important administrators were seated at the back: Mr. Li, the superintendent of over 5,000 students, Mr. Chung, the head of the grade 7 classes and two other principals. No pressure! Luckily I was able to ignore them and focus on the kids. The kids responded well to my lesson, and when stumped, one of the Chinese English teachers, Emily, kicked in with a Mandarin explanation. I believe it went well, the admins seemed impressed. I'm a little more comfortable about managing 34 ESL students. This is a ridiculous number by Canadian standards. But
Joe, Me and JohnJoe, Me and JohnJoe, Me and John

Eating out, once again...
as previously said, 50 is the average for other classes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

fish tanksfish tanks
fish tanks

point to what you want to eat....
Restaurant GreetersRestaurant Greeters
Restaurant Greeters

typical at entranceways


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb