University social whirl


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shaoguan
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jo's Notes: Life has been full of social events, special occasions, getting acquainted with colleagues, and teaching. Three weeks ago, went to a hot springs resort near the university (see pictures) with the other foreign language instructors. After the standard 11-dish dinner, we floated around on big black inner tubes in 130 degree spring water until 10 p.m. Felt great to collapse under heavy comforters in 50-degree unheated rooms. Two weeks ago the university celebrated its 50th Anniversary (see pictures). The Economics Dept. went out to dinner as part of the festivities. We had many toasts, with the mostly male faculty drinking biadju (55% proof). I kept up my end (easy since I was drinking tea). This was my first introduction to my colleagues, so I felt honored when, after dinner, the dean and several others took me to a traditional Chinese tea house. Many different kinds of tea were served, including the special pu-erh, during our leisurely two-hour visit. Teaching has been more enjoyable as I've gotten to know my students, and also more intense. The term ends soon and I've had a lot of work preparing the classes for their Final Presentations -- 500-word papers on a variety of economics topics I devised, which they must write and present in class, all in English. I have 2-3 one-on-one meetings per week and many e-mails to counsel them through their panic attacks. This morning Vice-Dean Yan and six of the econ. faculty came to my Int'l Investments class to observe. A bit unnerving, but it went all right I think -- I'll hear from Mr. Yan next week to get his feedback. The English Corner on Thursday nights has turned out to be a lot of fun. This weekend I am going to Hong Kong to attend Hong Kong Monthly Meeting for Worship on Sunday. I'll be working Christmas Day, but some of my students are planning to come to my place on the 27th to give me their version of a Christmas party. Once the term ends Jan. 5, I'll have 6 weeks of vacation through the Chinese New Year celebration, called Spring Festival. I've been invited to students and faculty's homes around Guangdong Province, so I'm looking forward to the time off.

Best wishes for a wonderful holiday season, and a very Happy New Year!!

Full Story: I'll write more in my next entry. For now, enjoy the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



30th December 2008

treadmill
I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. Sarah http://www.thetreadmillguide.com
8th January 2009

Thanks!
Thanks very much for your comments. Glad you're enjoying my blog. If you don't mind my asking, where do you live and what do you do? Jo Barnes

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb