After So Long


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
June 19th 2014
Published: June 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,
It seems like an age since I've done a blog. So the summer holidays are here 10 weeks off... Yay !
So places to go and people to see. I'm going to travel around southern China to see new places and to meet up with friends who are working in Guangdong province
First port of call Guangzhou. The train from Shaoyang arrived on time at 8a.m. Checked into the hostel and then out and about.
I went off in search of the Guangxiao Temple. A pretty buddhist temple with some really spectacular trees. I don't think I've seen trees so big. A busy temple with lots of people praying and burning insence.
I then went off in search of the mosque. This is the site of the oldest mosque in China and was apparently started by a relation of the prophet. They weren't going to let me in but after I gave them my sad eyes, always works, they relented. I'm pleased they did as it is really beautiful inside and the minaret is huge. It did take me a while to find it but it was worth it.
Lastly I visited the church. Nothing overly different, much like the ones in Europe, but odd to see in China. The church was built by the French after the 2nd Opium Wars. Funny how we don't learn about these wars at school.

Enjoy the photos
Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 16; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb