What's for Dinner??


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
May 27th 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Chinese are Crazy...


The restaurants and food markets in Guang zhou are amazing. Seriously, forget the sweet and sour pork mate!!! Food in China is alot more exotic and definately not a place for vegetarians, animal rights activist or anyone trying to lose the extra tummy roll for that matter!

Fresh vegies + anything that moves are potential dinner ingredients here. It took a while to get use to seeing live chooks, turtles and eels being sold in a regular modern supermarket.

Weirdest thing on the menu: So... the Chinese really do eat anything. Turtles in soup and fried snakes made me raise my eyebrows... but who would think you could eat WORMS for dinner?? There are these big fat pink worms you can order that the cooks will boil and cut up to put in soups. Apparently the locals eat it for the texture only since they are tasteless and for its nutritional value (or something like that).

Weirdest thing I saw in a resturant: That would have to be a real breathing 2 metre crocodile in a tank! Along with all the other tanks full of fishes. I couldn't believe it!

Weirdest thing I bought from a regular supermarket: 6 Croaking toads.

Tastiest thing I've eaten so far:
A chicken!! Chooks that live a happy life in someone's backyard definately taste better.

Animals I saw sold as pets:
Baby ducks
Frogs
Sting rays
Turtles

Most shocking moment:
When a guy bought a 3 month old white puppy dog at the markets for dinner for about $5.00!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Buy Buy!Buy Buy!
Buy Buy!

for only 2RMB or 30 aussie cents!
Hello!Hello!
Hello!

a little pet
Hmmm whats my pick? Hmmm whats my pick?
Hmmm whats my pick?

The more venemous the snake, the more expensive.
...Where did my Handbag go?...Where did my Handbag go?
...Where did my Handbag go?

chewy snake skin. never again.
WatermelonsWatermelons
Watermelons

for less than 15cents each!


Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb