Life in Guangzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
November 3rd 2010
Published: November 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sooooo, here we are in Guangzhou. Let's see, what to share... What not to share...

Probably shouldn't share, but I will - when we gave Jada her first bath (on video, of course) we were all crammed in the bathroom talking to her and distracting her. As soon as I began to take her clothes off the boys started "inspecting" and telling each other that she was missing, well, let's say...um, "parts". Caught all that on video too. :-/ I shooed them out of the bathroom and they didn't get to come back in, but from the giggles, I don't think they cared.

I'm going to try to attach some pictures of her crib. It's sweet - looks like it's from the 40's. It reminds me of a doll bed my grandfather made for my baby doll when I was little - do you remember it Mom? This crib has a tiny baby-size pillow and comforter, just like the one in my doll's bed - most likely made by my grandmother. Odd how this is bringing back such old memories. The first night I put her to bed I rocked her and she fell asleep in my arms - soooooo sweet! It was very special - except that when I went to lay her in the crib I accidentally dropped her. Oopsie! LOL Poor little baby. She opened eyes long enough to look at me like I was an idiot and then went back to sleep, never even cried. I didn't drop her too far, maybe only 5 or 6 inches... :-o

She likes to be held most of the time. The hotel they put us in is nice - it has a play room that Mattel has furnished with toys for the adoptees to play in. Very sweet. We have taken her in there to play a few times and she will play for just a few minutes, then either sits and watches the other children, or crawls to us and wants us to hold her. She almost seems like she doesn't know how to play with toys. Mattel also provides each family who is adopting with a Barbie that has a little Chinese baby - it's precious!! It's called a "Going Home Barbie". How sweet is that?

We don't really know what to say about the squatty potties. I'll try to send a photo of that too. When I heard it was a hole in the floor, I really thought it was a hole, but it's actually, well, it's a floor toilet. It's ceramic like ours, but that's the ONLY way it's like ours. The boys think it's hysterical to pee in them. The hotel has western toilets, but when you are out in the city, you mostly find the squatty potties. Some of the restrooms don't even have doors. Yep, you heard it. You can imagine the look on my face as I type this. When I walked out of the first one we visited, Steve was standing with our guide and another couple we were traveling with. They all started cracking up and I heard Steve say, "Look at her face!" Glad they were amused by my disgust. Ugh!

Our breakfast at the hotel is included in our stay and the food is great - provided you don't mind to eat things like spaghetti, baked beans, noodles, etc for breakfast. They have had french toast and boiled eggs, so that's what me and the boys are sticking with. The rest of the day we are on our own, and the food here is well, GROSS! Steve is thrilled because he loves Chinese food, and Zachary has been able to find enough of what he likes to eat. Me and Grayson are starving to death. Ok, not really, but we are mostly grossed out by what we eat. One night we ate a Papa John's pizza and it was ok. Last night we went out to a well known place here that serves Western food called Lucy's. Steve and I ordered hamburgers and I ordered baked potatoes for the boys. Steve ate his of course, and the boys ate their potatoes. I tried my hamburger and it tasted kinda weird. Then I saw a cat (you see very few dogs and cats here... wonder why...?) run from behind the restaurant into the bushes and my mind started messing with me so I decided not to eat my catburger, um, I mean, hamburger. Yik.

Ok, that's it for now. Love to all, we miss our friends. And especially our FOOD! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



3rd November 2010

Laughing out loud!!
Julie, You are cracking me up!! I actually laughed out loud at several parts of this post!! I'm guessing you might have some American food waiting on you when you get home!!! I think you did great with her hair, love that pic! I can't wait for you guys to be home!
3rd November 2010

sooooo happy :)
We miss you too! I ran into Karen at Krogers and we had a 15 min. girls night-LOL!!! Thinking and praying for you all often! Your little girls hair looks great! She is a cutie!! My kids are loving the pics and hearing the stories!! Caleb misses his buddies and can't wait to catch up with them. He says to tell them Hey! Thanks for the updates and will see you ALL soon :) In Christ, The Gardner Clan
4th November 2010
DSC09956

Poor babies
Hi guys, Julie, I was afraid you and the boys may get hungry but we know Stevie will eat anyhing. Do I need to send a care package? I do remember your little doll bed that Dad made. I miss you all. Stevie, we have been invaded by the Republicans. Even Rick Boucher is gone and so are all our hopes in Southwest Va I'm in mourning. Keep me informed and stay safe. Tell my boys I miss them sooooooooooo much. Love you , Mom
4th November 2010
Mom's trying to learn how to do little girl hair

well.....
you did great with the hair!!!!!!
4th November 2010

Julie, I am soooooo excited for you all! You have the most precious family(: I am still praying for you all and your new baby girl. I love you all so much and can't wait to see you! <3always, Kaylan
4th November 2010

Sounds like Julie
Well, the last posting sounds just like Julie...I'm grinning from ear to ear! Sounds like all is going very well. We miss you all very much and can't wait to get you home. Hug and Kiss little Jada for us. Bryan P.S. Uhhhhhh, you might want to get Karen to help you with the girl hair stuff!!!! LOL
5th November 2010
DSC09927

Hey guy's . Hope this find's you all well inchina with little Jada . How's Zachary and Grason doing with there little new sister ;-) By the way did I Mention that she's Beautiful Can't wait to meet her in person and me and daddy have been Praying for you guy's daily , and watchout for daddy he'll love to spoil her to death ;-) .. Please Pray for me while being over there my foot is not healing for some reason and I need to find me a good Orthapedic Dr. I think I might be Looking for surgury down the road .. Take care and see you all soon with Miss Little Jada;-)
7th November 2010

ha!
thanks for making me laugh like crazy! i'm just so amazingly happy for you! she's BEAUTIFUL and i find myself so anxious for you to come home so we can meet her! Be safe! love, anslee
8th November 2010

Miss you!
Hi guys! I have missed hearing from you. Praying all is well and can't wait to see all 5 of you Thursday! Praying without ceasing!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb