Guangzhou by night


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
August 8th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was my first night in Mainland China. As I came back to my hostel in the evening, I took a seat next to let's call him Tom (sorry man, I forgot your name. If you read this one day, please don't feel angry but leave me a message 😉 Well, Tom lives in this hostel for about 6 months now and teaches english. He knows GZs nightlife pretty well (better than the day life, if you know what I mean) and he showed me his favorite places. We finished our tour at 7am after being to about five different clubs and bars. It was amazing. I wont talk about the details 😉
The next morning began with some hard headaches. After breakfast or more exactly late lunch (I think it was 2pm), I walked through the city. There were so many people, allot more than i saw in Hongkong. In the evening, I went to Shamian Island. A sweet little place in the south of the city center, on the Pearl River. You can see old French and British colonial architecture there. In fact, French and British salesmen opened their warehouses their in the middle of the 19th century. Now Shamian looks more like any other place in GZ: it's modern and the (mostly top end) hotels and restaurants are filled with western tourists. I took the ferry that stopped in front of my hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb