Have a lovely Christmas!!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
December 16th 2007
Published: December 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey! Hope you're well 😊

Christmas is around the corner; my second one in China. Here in Guangzhou Christmas isn't the biggest thing around and could probably go by unnoticed if not paying attention. Sun still rises at 7 and stays up till after 6. Temperatures are around 25, so far from Swedish Christmas feeling, but pretty good after all! 😊

Last year I taught at EF during Christmas, this year I'll be having classes myself in the morning of the 24th. Will head over to Veronica's for a bit before she's off to Sweden. Then celebrating Christmas eve with Carmen, Sandra and their family and friends!!

My dad has just been here for a week, along with another colleague of ours. On the 13th we celebrated Lucia with pepparkakor and glogg! A few days before that we joined the Swedish trade council's and the Consulate's yearly Christmas dinner buffet. No herring, Jansons or julskinka could be spotted... but luckily meatballs, snaps and Christmas gifts!

Spent last weekend in Hong Kong where Christmas was in every corner! Joined Ogilvy on their annual team building trip, which was great. We were 7 girls going; staying at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, completely amazed with it's luxury, hehe. Shopping, eating, relaxing... having a lovlely time.

A few weekends ago Jennie and I travelled a few hours south of Guangzhou, to a small island resort with beach and mountains. Was only there for two days, but great to get out of the city for a while; get some fresh air and see something but high buildings and cars. 😊

Have also joined my first Chinese wedding - my former student Winnie getting married. In China people usually skip the ceremony and the church and go straight for the dinner party. I arrived to the restaurant around 7; with flowers, a gift and a small red envelope (often used when giving and receiving "lucky money" during Chinese festivals) with 200 yuan (of which 100 I was given back a week later, according to the tradition, hehe).

I was seated at one of 40 (!!!) round tables, together with Winnie's friends. Their English was very poor, hence I got a lot of Chinese practice! Our conversation went really well, at least in the beginning. But then, when having covered the things I know by heart and have said a million
My classMy classMy class

Favourite teacher and classmates
times, the struggle began, hehe. But shame on she who gives up! It ended up being a very nice evening as I met lovely people, but the event in itself was basically a dinner, a speech by Winnie's father as well as by the couple, and some toasts with the bride and the groom. Hence I was out of the wedding by 9.30.

My Chinese classes at Uni are almost over; have my finals in the beginning of January. After that I'll continue to study on my own and possibly a private teacher. Will focus more on speaking rather than all those nasty Charachters 😉
Work is going fine. It's still interesting and challenging plus keeping Jennie and me busy. Will continue the job here in China until next summer, along with learning Chinese and the internship.

Looking forward to January, when my good friend Vanessa is coming to visit, as well as hopefully my step dad and his wife. Also, of course, loking forward to coming home in February!
Wishing you all a really nice Christmas and a Happy Start of the New Year!!!!
Big hugs and lots of love! Emma

Advertisement



16th December 2007

God Jul
Hej tjejen och God Jul på dig, lite i förskott! Lika kul som vanligt o höra hur du har det! Här hemma känns det att det börjar närmar sig jul fastän hösten har gått så himla fort. För oss närmar sig även resan till Thailand, vi åker på juldan och är borta nästan fem veckor! Ska bli skönt!! Du får ha det så jättebra och hoppas att du får en riktigt bra jul! Jag hoppas att vi ses när du kommer hem! Många kramar från Frida

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb