Tulou Everywhere


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Yongding
August 1st 2014
Published: August 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

I slept really well but there's something odd staying in the tulou room, the floor slopes from back to front it's quite strange. I had an appointment with my motorcycle friend to take me out at 9 am. It was spitting with rain, another typhoon, but at least it was a lot cooler than the day before. He took me first to the viewing point were I could see tulou all the way down the valley, round ones, square ones and even a U-shaped one. A really incredible view with the rice terracing and tea plantations. The natural beauty is incredible.

We then went to visit Huanji Lou. This was the most beautiful of all the ones that we visited. There was nobody selling gifts, tea etc. just the people who lived there, and I was allowed to go upstairs. Just Wow! From there we went to Yanxiang lou which had an amazing ancestral hall at the centre. Again I was allowed to go upstairs to take photographs. We walked throuh a square tulou destroyed in the war in 1931. We visited 2 beautiful square tulou which were right next to a stream and another round tulou in the most picturesque setting with rice terracing and a stream.

My guide dropped me off at the HongKeng Tulou Cluster and I walked through these before heading back to the restaurant for a late lunch. In the afternoon I went to find Rusheng lou which was tiny with only 16 rooms.

I've had an incredible time here. The back packer centre next to the bus station were a great help with anything that I want and, just, wow, what a place. These incredible buildings in such an amazing setting is at times quite breathtaking.

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 98, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb