Xiamen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
August 1st 2014
Published: August 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Really diificult to get a bed here but luckily the last hostel i called had room. Xiamen is a port city on the south western coast of China. It is another part of China that was forcibly opened up by the Treaty of Nanjing after the Opium wars. The buildings have a western look to them.

I went to the Nanputuo temple first and this is where i discovered the masses of bus tour groups. This city is overrun with tourists. After I had visited I was going to visit the university campus until I saw the huge queue to get in, so I gave up and went to a vegetarian restaurant for lunch. After delicious fake fish and sizzling mushrooms I walked back towards Zhongshan lu.

Away from the maddening crowds the city is very pretty. I loved the gardens along a disused railway tracks and the huge Milefo, which was outside a tea shop. I then walked back along Zhongshan lu, which is really pretty with the arcades running outside the shops.

In need of some relaxation I found a shop which had a fish foot spa. What a weird sensation. It was good to sit there for a while. I then wandered around the fish market before heading back to the hostel

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb