Helping


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's interesting the ways in which we do things for each other. Sometimes right now I feel like I'm doing everything for Camillo and not getting anything in return. But those are the times when I forget if not for Camillo I would have no base for Chinese at all. The man taught me almost literally everything I know in Chinese and not only that but he taught me a good amount of Hunan dialect and Cantonese to get a grasp of what they're saying. Granted at the time I was helping him with his English too but I wasn't helping him with that nearly as much as he helped me with my Chinese. He also feeds me a lot. Ever since I left my parents home I've had a thing about late night meals. In college I used to have them with my roommates - the midnight till two-ish runs to different late night restaurants or cooking meals myself. Now that I'm out of college I have them with Camillo. Almost every night when he gets off work and finally gets to go home he eats something, and thereby feeds me too (because I'm more than likely with him). Now that I'm helping him with the subtitling I think he's saving me from my own boredom mostly (although he doesn't even know it). He's also teaching me some things that I may need to learn later on in life, things I can use in translating or understanding certain types of people. I think it's strange sometimes to look at what you're doing now. You never know how much different things you do will help you later on in life. The strange simple things can be the ones that end up changing your entire life. You never know.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb