Spell and Grammar Sucker


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
January 30th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Visited Countries Map


Gareth and I were just talking about the fact that China is officially the English sucker of the universe. For some reason the longer you are here the more you lose of your mother tongue. For us this means that when we go home we can no longer speak true English. Last time I went back to the US my father said "wait a couple weeks and she'll be able to speak English". We lose everything here including how to spell. I used to be an awesome speller but recently I have been having a lot of difficulties, times when I look at a word and it simply doesn't look right when it is or times when I know exactly how to say something but have no idea how to spell it. Yesterday in class I wanted to spell massouse (sp?) - the person who gives a massage and I still have no idea how to spell the word! I really need to get a dictionary here I use them all the time and they are extremely useful but the school doesn't really believe in using books. We are dependent on the internet to look up things and get any ideas that aren't our own or those of the other foreign teachers.

As a small side comment this map has almost nothing on it highlighted. I really need to start seeing other countries!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb