Last Days in Yongchuan - and a Chinese Medical.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Chongqing
August 23rd 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have officially finished the summer school session in Yongchuan. The first half went really slow but the second half seemed to fly by! Overall, I think it went well. Its hard to really teach kids oral communication when your class size is close to 30 and your classes are only 45 minutes long. I tried my best though and I really hope the kids were able to take something away from my lessons.

Yongchuan area really started to grow on me. I am glad I wasn't placed right in the heart of Chongqing city - that would have been a bit too intense. Instead, I am in the 'new' part of Yongchuan so it is much less crowded and quite easy to get around. I have really fell in love with a few of the restaurants and local dishes here. I know I am going to miss the food when I leave!

A huge part of making my experience in Yongchuan so positive was a few of the Chinese teachers here. They really helped me out and were ALWAYS looking out for me - I felt really taken care of. I will miss their company dearly.

So now I am off to Hong Kong to attempt to get a working visa. I had my medical 2 days ago. That was an experience. I had to go into CQ city and the morning consisted of me standing in 10 different line ups to get various tests and paperwork done.
Line 1: Register
Line 2: Temperature taken
Line 3: Pay
Line 4: ECG (I am pretty sure the old lady doing my ECG was trying to tell me about an irregular heart beat but I couldn't understand her).
Line 5: Blood test (they didn't change the gloves between people which was kind of sketchy but thank goodness they used a new needle!)
Line 6: ENT - this was an eye test and and ear test
Line 7: This line was called medicine and surgery. She did a physical and then took my blood pressure and stuff.
Line 8: This wasn't really a line. It was a urine sample and it was so gross. They gave me a flimsy plastic cup. Like a really flimsy, really small, really cheap plastic cup. I had to pee in it in a washroom. It had NO lid. Then I had to walk out of the washroom, balancing my little plastic pee cup, trying not to bump into the hoards of Chinese people doing their medicals and place my pee sample (no lid still) on a tray with dozens of other people's pee samples in an open hallway (still no lids). It was actually disgusting. They were burning incense close by. Ew.
Line 9: I had an ultrasound!
Line 10: I got my chest x-ray'd!
After that I dropped off my form and now I will go pick it up tomorrow morning before my flight. Hopefully I am healthy enough to work in China. Fingers are crossed!

I am both nervous and excited for Hong Kong. I am nervous because I really want this visa thing to go smoothly and I am excited because HK is supposed to be an AMAZING city. It also means I will be one step closer to Dalian - a place where I can finally unpack and relax for a bit!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb