My Trip to Chongqing City


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Chongqing
August 12th 2011
Published: August 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ci Qi Kou Zheng JieCi Qi Kou Zheng JieCi Qi Kou Zheng Jie

Entrance Gate
On Sunday, August 7th one of the teachers and I made our way into the heart of CQ city. We had to take a public bus from the school and then transfer to another public bus to get to the long distance bus station in Yongchuan. From there we got on another bus that would take us to CQ city. It would have been extremely difficult if I did this by myself – some might even say impossible. I still haven’t seen another ‘westerner’ in Yongchuan as its not really on the tourist map for China.

CQ city is one of the world’s largest cities by population and by area. It has around 30 million people in it! It is also known as one of China’s 3 ‘furnaces’. In other words, it gets really hot in the summer time here. Temperatures can easily get over 40 degrees. The day that we went it was maybe in the low 30’s. It was still HOT for me.

My favorite part of our trip to CQ city was when we went to the Ancient town called Ci Qi Kou Zheng Jie. It is comprised of small restored buildings from the late Ming
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

One of the many shops...
Dynasty that have been converted into shops and eateries. I had fun looking in all of the shops and sampling all of the delicious street food here. It’s a very cute place to visit and I highly recommend it. However, there were tons of Chinese tourists there and it can become quite crowded as the streets are very narrow in the area. You really have to use your elbows!



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

My Lamb
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Making another type of candy
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Red Bean Cakes (I think)
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Sugar Candy
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Sugar Candy


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb