China Holiday - getting some insight


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 25th 2016
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I wanted to get some insight on the local customs in China, so I called folks that live in Maryland. You see one is married to a young lady who was born and raised in Hong Kong, not exactly China, but I figured she would at least be aware of any customs I should be aware of. So I gave her a call and explained my mission. She was very helpful.

She said that it is a custom to give a small gift when you visit the home of a local family. Since we were going to visit some locals and learn how to make Chinese food, this was perefect. The only problem I had was what to give them. She had several excellent suggestions on do's and dont's.

Don't give a knife, or a pear, they are considered bad luck or mean that you want a separation. Not good. Do give citrus fruit, or a fruit basket especially one made locally as a house gift. Great idea. They love oranges, lemons and limes but trying to bring this over is tough, so local purchases are the way to go. Oddly enough the locals prize US grown gensing. Now this really shocked me, but it seems that in China the gensing is full of nitrates, while in the US it is not. So, one idea is to smuggle some gensing in my bag as a special treat. Ok I may give it a shot.

They do like chocolate, and locally they have some of the best chocolates in the world, so that is another idea. We came to the conclusion that I can buy locally and impress our hosts.

So we chatted a little more and she gave me a warning. Do NOT Eat Street Foods! Now one of the reasons I travel is to eat street foods, so this was distressing. I asked why and she told me this story.

A few years ago, some friends of hers from Canada, went on tour to China. They were having a wonderful time eating at fine restaurants, but wanted to experience local fare, so they stopped into a local spot to enjoy a bowl of noodles. They knew enough to make sure that the cooks were boiling their food, so before going in, they checked it out from the window, and did see that they were boiling their noodles in extremely hot water, check. Then they checked to see if the utensils were clean. These too were being boiled, so check again. So they went in.

Now picture ten Canadians in a local restaurant enjoying a delicious bowl of local noodles. Laughing, talking and generally enjoying their time in China. Well a day or two later nine of the ten get sick. Real sick. It seems that they contracted a parasite that must have survived the boiling water during the washing of the utensils. Since their bodies were not used to having this parasite, they were unprepared to do biological warfare with the critter.

Fearing the worst, they head off to the hospital for treatment, as one of the nine fell deathly sick and seemed to be getting worse. The doctor correctly diagnosed the issue but refused the very ill traveler any treatment because he was not Chinese, and the doctor was concerned that treating a non national could get him into trouble. NOT GOOD! The doctor directed them to contact the Canadian Consulate to see if they will treat the traveler, and promptly left their site. Oh damn, now what.

Unfortunately,the traveler continued to go downhill and without any treatment DIED. Yes folks, he went to China on vacation and DIED. The other eight ill travelers survived; so ten went to China and only nine came back!

OK, so now I'm terrified about eating street food. My friend chimes in and tells me that as long as the food is NOT Cooked in water, but is fried or grilled or otherwise cooked, I will be OK. Whew, now I feel a little better and will very cautiously choose my street food wisely.

So if you go to China heed this warning, do not drink the water and be careful of your utensiles. I am bringing my own forks, knives and spoons, just in case! Good traveling.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.499s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.2286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb