Catch up


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 19th 2006
Published: August 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Great Wall of ChinaThe Great Wall of ChinaThe Great Wall of China

We climbed up the Great Wall here.
HI! Sorry I have left you all hanging for the last couple of days. So....what have I been doing? Well, on Thursday was my last day of work so I went through the whole tradition of gift giving and well wishing to my colleagues. I must admit that when I left the office that day, I was actually sad, because these people had been so kind to me and yet I probably will never see them again.

Friday morning I went with Diana to the famous Pearl Market where we met up with her Columbian friend. The market is several floors. The first floor actually does not have any pearls, but rather electronics and silk. The second floor has jewelry which is rather inexpensive and consists more of jade and other types of stones (or glass). Then on the third floor is the real pearl market which has all these small jewelers that sit you down and lay down a cloth on which they put all the different qualities of pearls they have for you to look at. This was particularly interesting because the shopkeeper was telling us the differences between the salt water and fresh water pearls. Apparently fresh
Atop The Great Wall of ChinaAtop The Great Wall of ChinaAtop The Great Wall of China

Imagine standing on the Great Wall looking out...
water pearls are solid all the way through with what you see on the outside, however the sea water pearls are more like a seed with the pearly shell around it. The Columbian lady also had to get a watch fixed so we went to an apartment building and up to a guy's flat where we were led into one of the rooms in his sparse apartment that was lined with watch cases. It was very interesting, not completely sure what kind of business he was operating.

After that I went to the airport to pick up my boyfriend, or should I say my fiance, Ron. Friday evening we had a farewell dinner, then went to a small bar, and then later to a latin club opening bash. Today we went to the Badaling section of the Great Wall, which is more touristy. Once Ron and I reached as far as we cared to go, is where he proposed to me. After we got back, I took him to Wangfujing to try the street food.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Along The Great Wall of ChinaAlong The Great Wall of China
Along The Great Wall of China

China, especially Beijing, is very excited to host the Olympics in 2008.
People Everywhere!People Everywhere!
People Everywhere!

People, as far as the eye can see... because it was easier to climb that way. (We went the opposite direction.)
Before The ProposalBefore The Proposal
Before The Proposal

Little does Tekla know what's about to happen ...
EngagedEngaged
Engaged

We found a quiet spot on the Great Wall.
EngagedEngaged
Engaged

The Great Wall was amazing!


19th August 2006

Congratulations!
Congratulations Ron and Tekla! Didn't think I could keep a secret this long did you? Love to both of you!
19th August 2006

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!
We expect to see a photo of the happy couple and the ring on the next posting. Welcome to the family Ron.
20th August 2006

Congratulations to you both!
What an amazing story to tell your grandchildren one day! (I'm channeling Grandpa Hirzel right now.) Looking forward to see you both in Ohio. Travel safely. Love, Heidi
20th August 2006

Congrats!
Tekla--congrats on the engagement! Wow, the Great Wall of all places *grin* Now that is something the kids and grandkids are going to love to hear about. Look forward to meeting Ron at the next reunion.
20th August 2006

Congratulations
Congrats Tekla!! When you said boyfriend, and then fiance, I'm thinking why didn't Carla mention that....?? And then you said he proposed..... wow...!!! How romantic. Congratulations to both of you. Guess what Tekla? You can now keep a blog on you preparing for married life....!! Hehe... all the wedding dramas etc. :) I'm with Jessica... am expecting photos on the next blog. Cheers.
20th August 2006

Congrats from Yellow Springs!
TEKLA!!! We are all so happy for you and Ron! Love and cheers from Aunt Rose, Bob, Amanda, Max, Mckenna, Kristie, and me :-)
20th August 2006

Chills
It's hot in Arizona - but I have chills from reading this entry! You are all grown up now! Congratulations to both of you!
20th August 2006

Congratulations
We are so happy for you both. Congratulations
21st August 2006

Congrats to you both!
22nd August 2006

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!
Wow,. good job Ron !! Much respect on your style,. and following your heart with wonderus, and unforgettable tack to Teckla! No,..you don't know me,. but just know this,. if you break Tek's heart,... I WILL break your legs ! ........ and Ummm No I'm not kidding . Now with that said,. I Look forward to meeting you soon and wish BOTH of you the best this wonderful world has to offer !!! Lou Kozma Jr. Lou
1st September 2006

Congratulation from Green Bank!
From all of Ron's colleagues in Green Bank, many congratulations to the happy couple! We wish you a long and prosperous life together.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb