Xidan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 13th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

XidanXidanXidan

A sign in the "Beijing Book Building", also known as the bookstore in Xidan. I think maybe the sign makers should take a look at some of the English books for some vocabulary tips;)
We were supposed to go to the Forbidden City today, but it was raining and some of the people I was supposed to be going with from work were not able to come, so we cancelled our plans. So instead Diana and I went to another Chinese market, called Xidan. It was not as much a touristy place so it was a slightly different atmosphere than some of the other markets to which we have been. For lunch we went to McDonald's there in the market. It was quite similar to those in the U.S., from what I can remember, I have not been to one in so long. Although I think the prices were lower than at home, Diana said the servings were smaller than what they serve in the U.S., but I really could not say. Actually I did not think the fries tasted that good, which is usually the only redeeming quality of the restaurant to me. However the place was packed, and it was a good sized dining room probably seating 150.

In the evening I went out with Diana and some of her Chinese friends. We went to a restaurant/tea house called the "Green T. House". It was very modern and geared more towards westerners, so we were each expected to order our own food. This seemed to be rather uncomfortable for our Chinese companions, as they are so used to eating family style. Her friends were very nice, and even drove us back to our hotel. I think they must be quite wealthy to have a nice van in Beijing. Her friend thought it very funny that as soon as Diana and I got in the van, we put our seat belt on, she said "Oh, what a good habit!". Apparently it is the law that both the driver and passenger must wear a seat belt, but no one follows it unless they see a police man. I suppose this is true in the U.S. too, but I do not think that we drive quite as crazy as they do here!

Her friends also gave me a Chinese name! It is something like Moe Lee, using my own phonetics system. It means "fresh air", because they said I made them all feel comfortable when they were around me. I thought it was nice😊

When we got back in, we watched "Walk the Line" with some of our group members, as this is our last full weekend together, for some. I thought the movie was well done, and Johnny Cash's voice well portrayed. While his life was unfortunate at times, at least he lived to be an old man. Something that many others never did.

Advertisement



14th August 2006

End of Trip
Tekla, how long before you leave? What am I going to read once you stop with the blog? Mmmmm.... maybe you'll have to start a new blog once you return home.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb