Conveyor Belt


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 11th 2006
Published: August 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today's class consisted of a cultural differences discussion. It started out with our teacher asking us why we chose to come to China. I sometimes do not think the Chinese realize how important their country is to the rest of the world. But I am sure a lot of Americans do not realize how important China is to our country either. Our discussion then led to more differences between the Chinese and American cultures. Our teacher proceeded to tell us about Chinese women and how Chinese men are the happiest in the world because Chinese women do everything they want. Apparently plastic surgery is becoming very popular here, I have even seen advertisements for it on the bus! They want to have more pronounced noses and eye lids and narrower faces. I have noticed that even in the Chinese shopping malls the manequins do not have oriental features, they are very Western. It seems the girls here are very self conscious as to how they look, they seem even more vain than western girls! I cannot imagine how it feels to have your perfect image be someone with a different color of skin, hair, and facial features. Our teacher was tellling us that the only other nationality to have the same interest in changing their physical appearance were the Koreans. It is apparently so popular, that when their schools are on break the hospitals fill up with all their plastic surgery operations. What have we done to make them feel that they cannot be beautiful unless they look like us?

This evening I had sushi with Diana at a restaurant where they had a conveyor belt that went around the dining room. If you chose, you could take any dish of sushi that came along! I thought it was a great idea! I also had some dried kiwi today. I had never had dried kiwi before, but it was quite nice. I have not seen any weird flavors of soda, I do not think they drink much other than Coca-Cola.

Advertisement



11th August 2006

chinese cook book
I would be very interested in learning how the chinese combine different flavors to achive the distinctive flavors . yOU KNOW how much I like eating especialy something new and different. I like the conveyor belt idea I hope you took some pictures at least a drawing.DAD

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb