2nd Day in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 16th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I'm coming home today, but I haven't had time to update the blog because it's been go go go since we got here! 5 cities in 10 days it rigorous!!!

So the second day we were in Beijing, we didn't have any set plans. The first thing we did it head to the food court on Wangfujing Street. Brian had been threre with his classmates and it was an easy point at what you want joint. I had some cha sew bau and some won ton soup...it tastes the same as home. We decided not to go to the Great Wall, because it was too far away and much too hot to make the journey. So we decided to go to the National Chinese Museum in Tienamen Square, and we only went here because it had air conditioning!!! Did I mention that it is SUPER HOT AND HUMID HERE??? We got to the museum and it wasn't even that cool inside and the artifacts weren't that impressive, so we left and decided to take a cab back to the Hohai. We had cold beer....mojito for me at a little bar there. I bought a cute white eyelet skirt that was WAY more than I wanted to spend...$28 USD! I could buy that cheaper at the Marshalls!!! I needed the skirt because it is too hot to wear shorts all the time. I forget what we had for dinner...I'll have to ask Brian when I get home.

We took our first night train to Datong that night. We had the hard sleeper bunks. It wasn't that bad, except the bathrooms were pretty much a squat and shoot into a hole on the floor that emptied right onto the tracks. Brian and I slept right across from each other on the bottom bunk. There was a huge group of people from Lithuwania (sp) on our train. They sat up ank talked and laughed for what seemed like hours. I had to put my iPod on to fall asleep. It figures that I had to pee TWICE in the middle of the night on this journey! UGH!!!

We arrived in Datong at 7:00am the next day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb