Sour Vegetable


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 13th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I don't think tomatoes and sauerkraut (or as they call it, sour vegetable) have ever tasted so good! Everyday that I go into work, I go to lunch in the cafeteria. They generally have three meat dishes of which you can choose just one. Then they have two vegetable dishes, rolls, soup, noodles, and fresh fruit. At first I enjoyed trying the different vegetables, but they are just so different. Today, though, they had stewed tomatoes with scrambled eggs mixed in, sauerkraut with some sort of noodle, and some fried potatoes. I must have been scarfing it down because my supervisor told me that I could get seconds. I think they were glad to see me eat though, because they always feel I never eat enough. The problem is that they eat everything that is offered, they don't pick and choose, and they don't take small portions either. I told them that the food was like what my mom made at home, and they were impressed.

In other food news, I was asked today about breakfast. One of the guys said, "I see you come in and eat a banana everyday, is that your breakfast?". I told him that it was, and that actually most Americans don't even eat breakfast. This was obviously something very difficult for him to understand. I have been told that normally the Chinese eat eggs and other stuff for breakfast. It is not just something you eat on the run. Although, I would say that the American culture is different from most in the fact that we don't have time to eat because we are too busy, it seems most cultures purposefully set aside time to eat and rest.

Finally, I would like to do some promotion on my blog for Skype. Today I was able to talk to Ron in West Virginia and mom and dad in Ohio for free! For those of you who might not know, Skype is a telephone service through the internet. Through the software that you download for free, you can talk computer to computer for free or put some money on your account and call from your computer to a landline. But now, Skype is running a promotion in which you can call the United States and Canada for free from your computer to a landline phone in either of those countries until the end of the year.

Advertisement



13th July 2006

Better than back home?
I am certain that the tomatoes and sauerkraut taste so good because they present an escape from the foreign foods, but to say that they have never "tasted so good," is hard to believe, knowing your family. :-)

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb