First Sunday in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 25th 2006
Published: June 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today was my day of rest. The only place I went to was church, but even that was adventure enough to write about. It started out with one of the girls from another China Abroad group that had been going to a church since she got here and wanted to know if anyone from our group wanted to join her. It ended up that five of us piled into a cab and took a 15 minute ride to this nondenominational church.
Apparently, due to governmental laws in China, the only people who can openly practice Christianity, are those who are foreign. As a result the church was underground, below an office building with no signs signaling that there was any type of religious facility in the area. Then at the door of the room where people were congregating there was a man checking for IDs, making sure that everyone who entered was a holder of a foreign passport. Once inside the large room, it was pretty much like entering a nondenominational church in the states with a bunch of chairs set up in rows, three projector boards set up around the room for lyrics and PowerPoints to be displayed on them, and a praise band in the front leading the music. Everything was conducted in English. After the service I even saw some Amish/Menonite looking women taking care of people's children in the next room. It was all very interesting and made me realize how fortunate we are to have religious freedom in countries like the United States.
The only other thing I did today was go to dinner with Shaloma in the Japanese restaurant, in the basement of our dorm. Here we had some salmon rolls, which were just bits of salmon surrounded by rice and wrapped in seaweed. Afterwards we had some ice cream. There are three different kinds of ice cream in the little store in our dorm that I must try by the time I leave. Today I had the green tea ice cream, it was interesting but I wouldn't buy a whole gallon of it. The other two flavors I must try are corn and pea flavor. Yeah I know they sound gross, but who knows they might be really good!
Oh, and to answer Lisa's question, the "pumpkin fries" that I referred to in my last post were just like french fries but with pumpkin and it seemed like they were fried in egg instead. Also, this is not the technical term for the dish, I can't remember the official name but I thought pumpkin fries best described them.

Advertisement



25th June 2006

Yuck!!
Pea and corn ice cream???? Gross! I wouldn't even care to try!! Harry made it through the night! Down to 13 people, including Gina, the other previous car winner. They went on to one car yesterday. Debbie said he was tired in the afternoon....hope he can hang on!
26th June 2006

IceScream!!!!!!!!!!
Rum Raisin sounds better...think I'll have some now! Missed you at the Hirzel Reunion but I am sure you have having a most memorable time! Smiles to you and stay safe.
26th June 2006

You're game....
Hi Tekla, you are so game to try new foods. I only have to look at it and my stomach turns, (even hearing about it does the trick). What are the people like? Are they friendly, or do they just carry on with their day without paying much attention to you?
30th June 2006

Sounds like you are having some good experiences over there. Stay safe and enjoy the time you are there. I envy you the courage to go to these faraway places. Have fun. Dave and Virgie

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb