A Walk in the Parks: One afternoon with my local friend and guide


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 16th 2010
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a good day. I met my friend I had made on-line while studying in Shanghai earlier this week, and we really hit it off. Hanging out with him is the experience I wish I could have had with more locals in Shanghai, as our conversations are educational, and give me an opportunity for real cultural exchange and a chance to practice my Chinese, as we'll use as much Chinese as my level allows, but can easily switch to English when my vocabulary is insufficient for the subject matter.

I met up with Alex (English name, which I prefer as if I use the wrong tone for his Chinese name, it's an insult) again yesterday at the subway stop near some parks where he wanted to take me for a walk. He's entertained many foreign friends and visitors and worked in the tourism biz, so he has a really good idea of what foreigners are interested in. We walked around the bell tower, then to a nearby park. In some of the parks in Beijing, it's really easy to forget you're in the middle of the city, as as far as you can see it's trees and lush green areas. It's not until you climb the hills and can see the smoggy Beijing skyline past it all that you remember you're in a huge city (22 million on the books-that doesn't count tourists, expats, or migrant workers).

We first went to Beihai Park, which has a huge stuppa. We hiked up to the base of the stuppa, which he said was the biggest in China. However, when I was in Tibet, they claimed to have that, and I've not idea which is bigger. Or maybe the one in Tibet was the highest stuppa... can't recall. It was a little hike up, but it was nice.

Then we went to another nearby park which offered the most amazing views of the Forbidden City after a little hike up some stairs. (I call everything involving many stairs a hike as I'm a bit out of shape and they easily leave me winded.)

So it was a little tiring, especially as yesterday was so hot, but quite a wonderful day. We ended it walking on a nearby touristy street with many older (or at least older looking) buildings with many shops and restaurants and also a few hostels. Found dinner at a place with Chinese and Western food, and we were both happy 😊

Alex also helped me with my homework, which was to write and give a short speech on the Dragon Boat Festival which is today. Not much for foreigners to do or see, as they don't hold the races in the North of China, and most people spend the day at home with their families.

Hoping to meet up again this weekend 😊 Looking forward to learning and seeing more of Beijing...



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb