Last Week in Beijing!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 13th 2010
Published: April 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi!

I feel like it's been a little too long since I wrote.. whoops! I uploaded some pictures though, of some excursions around Beijing, notably the New Summer Palace. I have my final on Friday and leave Friday or Saturday for a two week study trip. I'll be going to Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Guilin, and Yangshuo, and then returning to Beijing on April 30, I think. I'm excited! I can't believe it's almost over, though... it seems like I just stepped off the airplane, but so much has happened!!

I'll come back to this and actually write an entry, but for now I'll just get these pictures up. I'm still alive, having a wonderful time, and I'm excited to see and talk to you all when I get back!!

Love!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Couples TshirtsCouples Tshirts
Couples Tshirts

Just a few of the many couples outfits you can buy!
Couples Tshirts, again.Couples Tshirts, again.
Couples Tshirts, again.

Our love will go on forever.. but of course!
Pretty Sunset walking from YaxiuPretty Sunset walking from Yaxiu
Pretty Sunset walking from Yaxiu

Walking to one of the markets, Yaxiu, takes you on this road which is rather pretty! There are embassies lining both sides of the road, most of them representing African or Middle Eastern countries.
Xiyangyang!Xiyangyang!
Xiyangyang!

This lamb/sheep, named Xiyangyang, is from a really popular kids cartoon. The kids at this outdoor mall loved it!! It was adorable!
On CampusOn Campus
On Campus

This little grassy area is outside of our classroom, and a couple of times we've had class there!
Same grassy areaSame grassy area
Same grassy area

You can almost see my classroom.. it's located in I think the third building from the left.
Wudaokou Night MarketWudaokou Night Market
Wudaokou Night Market

A glimpse, which doesn't do it justice, of the night market in Wudaokou every night. People sell all sorts of things and it gets pretty crowded!
Vendors at the Entrance to BeidaVendors at the Entrance to Beida
Vendors at the Entrance to Beida

There are always lots of carts at the East Gate of Beida, selling roasted sweet potatoes, pineapple chunks, strawberries, jianbings (egg things..), meat and peppers in a pita type thing.. tons!
East Gate of BeidaEast Gate of Beida
East Gate of Beida

Hopefully I'll get a better picture, but this is the East Gate from the side. Note the not so lovely architecture but also the gate; they have guards there that check student IDs before letting you in.
At the New Summer Palace!At the New Summer Palace!
At the New Summer Palace!

A gate! We didn't have a tour guide, so I'll have to read up on exactly where we went..
More New Summer PalaceMore New Summer Palace
More New Summer Palace

This looked like a fun area! I don't know if the water connects to the big lake you'll see in a few pictures, though.
Longevity HillLongevity Hill
Longevity Hill

I believe the big hill we're about to climb is Longevity Hill, and that might be the Hall of Buddhist Tenets that's on the top. But don't quote me.
Climbing Longevity HillClimbing Longevity Hill
Climbing Longevity Hill

Is a long process! I think these airmaster guys were from Denmark or something. But also, look at how tiny the people look at the top of the stairs!
View from (kind of) the Top!View from (kind of) the Top!
View from (kind of) the Top!

It was a relatively clear day in Beijing! The mountains to the left might be the same ones that you can see behind Beida. Also look how green the trees in the Palace look! So refreshing!
Hall of Buddhist Tenets?Hall of Buddhist Tenets?
Hall of Buddhist Tenets?

I think? It reminds me of the green and yellow building near the white temple at Beihai Park.
Tower of Buddhist Incense!Tower of Buddhist Incense!
Tower of Buddhist Incense!

First sighting! It's really big and pretty. Its Chinese name is Foxiangge. As I understand it, thank you Wikipedia, this Tower is part of the Temple of Buddhist Virtue.. maybe. Other surrounding halls/buildings include the Sea of Wisdom Temple and the Cloud-Dispelling Hall.
View of Kunming Lake!View of Kunming Lake!
View of Kunming Lake!

Me and Andrew in front of the gate in front of lots of steps, about to start our journey towards the lake!
Kunming Lake and more TemplesKunming Lake and more Temples
Kunming Lake and more Temples

It was a gorgeous day and soon we were in one of those boats down there! After we climbed down many steps, of course (but fewer than at the Great Wall, so who can complain?)
And we're on a boat!And we're on a boat!
And we're on a boat!

View of the huge temples from a little ways out on Kunming Lake.
I'm driving!I'm driving!
I'm driving!

And we didn't crash!


13th April 2010

I enjoyed your post. I have always wanted to go to China. My blog is looking for travel photos, stories, accommodation reviews, and food reviews. If you have the time and have some to share, email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb