Tour Participation/Promotion


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
November 11th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have come in as close contact to a typical "Chinese Tour Package" as I ever care to come to. My most recent burst of stardom entailed me participating in an instructional film on the subject of travel. I reunited with my old crew (and some cast) to portray typical situations that the average tourist should expect to encounter. My character (Linda) was responsible for booking a tour to Tibet through an agency. This tedious scene seriously testing my acting chops, as I had to convey great enthusiasm over partaking in an organized event (which as we all know is something that I have always loathed) and now after seven months of life here, have really come to detest as I am constantly surrounded by these flag and mega-phone lead brightly hatted groups. (This distaste most likely stems from extended family vacations to Disney, where all the cousins were dressed alike and capped with the most hideous neon hats known to man). Regardless of where this scarring is triggered from, it was all I could do to focus on enjoying the irony of the situation and bubble with glee at the "fantastic package" that was offered me. As usual, there was a last minute role thrust upon me and I then had to pretend to be "Mrs. Bonny" who had an upset stomach in the restaurant scene and "couldn't eat anything spicy". Once again... so far from the truth. I think the highlight of my day was the fact that the crew addressed me as "Sara" the entire time (my character from the last shoot).

It snowed again... and this time it's cold enough to stay. My daily walks now have the same predictable (and unavoidable) encounter with a misplaced step hurtling me into a puddle of slush and snow. The fact that my shoes are breaking at the best of times does not bode well for my poor feets. As I have mentioned before, I am NOT prepared for the Beijing winter. I did invest in a pair of gloves, so that's a step up, but still am stuck wearing nylons (which all have shredded and dotted themselves with holes) and layering up with the entire contents of my closet. Ridiculous. A friend and I went to the Alien Street Market a couple days ago to search for some warm attire. I didn't make the connection that we were in a Russian district of town until it sunk in that all the Chinese stall owners weren't speaking Chinese to me, rather I was being addressed in Russian everywhere I wandered. That was a bizarre feeling! I did manage to make one purchase which I am quite pleased with. There was a big fuzzy sweater hanging on the wall of one particular stall, and when I went to investigate further I realized the material was stuff quite similar to plush stuffed animals. Glorious! After haggling hard with the lady (who insisted that she would starve that night with the price I offered) the sweater was mine, and when worn, it greatly increases random hugs received. It's unattractive at best, but so cozy! I put it on immediately and immediately had a small Chinese man sneak up to me, stop, stroke my arm, and then scurry away. Hehe.

Now, I am going to risk jinxing myself and tell you about a job that is supposedly "confirmed". . Be that as it may, my head is still reeling... and after reading (and re-reading) the email received an hour ago, I just have to burst with the news! Gahhhhhh. *Deep breath*

... ok, so as usual I spent last night sending out random responses to job postings on the Beijinger. Life here being so surreal at the best of times I never limit myself and try to land the most obscure of listings. This has had varied results in the past and is how I have ended up being involved with the voice work and other filming. Anyways... I apply for extra/small role work in another movie project and send off a quick email with some recent (horribly unprofessional) photos and then don't think twice about it. However, I soon receive replies to send more photos and inquiring if I am free for the next three to four months. Ummm... yes, unemployment makes me frighteningly available. It ends up that the director is quite busy and out of town and will be casting entirely through photos and the height requirement. (Yay, long legs!) Tonight, I open my email and am pleased and amazed (and hoping this isn't a trick) to report that I will be participating in Mermaid Island (or Empires of the Deep) which is a Sino-Hollywood joint production about the love story between a mermaid and mortal. We will be filming for three to four months in Beijing, Shanghai, and Fujian with all 3 star hotels, food and transport paid. I believe the salary is 8000 - 12000rmb per month, depending on your role. Even if it's just 8000rmb that's all money in your pocket and the opportunity alone is priceless! This is a big deal production. Please pray that all works out! I really want this.

- Your starstruck correspondent.

Advertisement



14th November 2009

AHAHA love the Disney reference! We have been scared for life. Congrats on the job! Fingers crossed for my moviestar cousin! xoxo

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb