The Bike


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 7th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post


I have been lucky enough to experience the bike life, and survive. It is the fastest slow-pace ride I have ever been on. No one goes much faster than 10 or 15 km per hour (partly because the bikes only have 1 gear), but it is still scary. You don’t need speed for a thrill.

The bike is one of the most popular means (if not the most popular) of transportation in China. When one thinks of Beijing, his mind might to polluted streets with nice green bicycles slowly cruising down the side. This is at least the image my mind goes to…

Most of the bikes are made of a solid metal frame. They have small, flimsy looking peddles sticking out the side, which pull a chain around the single back gear. The wheels are something between a racing bikes wheel and a mountain bikes. There is a solid basket in the front, and a place to put boxes (or people) on the back. The brakes are the worst part, the rubber on the brake doesn’t stick well to the wheel, and so it often slides and screeches. I thought that was a crucial part, but stopping is a hit to your family’s honor or something…no one does it.

The mentality when riding a bike seems to be slow and steady, and to trust the people around you to see you. They are just Energizer Bunnies. Energizer Bunnies with bicycles: they just keep going. Once they get into a groove, you need a bus (sometimes that isn’t even enough) to slow them down. I don’t think anyone looks around in this country; whereas for me, if I don’t know what is around me, I get paranoid. The worst part about the slow and steady mentality is that it actually works. I have flown by many people only to have them pass me later when I get stuck behind granny, or two people on one bike.

It can be frustrating, however, when no one thinks to look behind them before they cut you off; or, when car-drivers decide to use the bike lane as another traffic lane. I am terrified of getting into a crash with a car or something. But the more I think about it, the less I worry about getting injured than getting in trouble with that person. As I said before, no one goes very quickly, not even the drivers. If I were to get into an accident, I don’t think I would severely injure myself. Nonetheless, I’m surprised I haven’t seen or heard of more accidents. I guess the mix of crazy bike riders and crazy car drivers somehow cancel each other. Too bad I’m sane, but when in Rome….bwhaha


Advertisement



12th March 2006

Keep on peddlin'
Luke - Nice blog... I can picture what it must be like. Keep them comming!
12th March 2006

man do i hate bikers
wow. id be in hell. bikers absolutely terrify me. so, yeah, stay safe. anways hi! keep having a good time : )
19th March 2006

Luke: don't go to china
wow luke everything youre doin over there seems incredible...the experience must be fantastic. phenomonal. amazing. fabulous. wonderful. exhilerating. mind-blowing. sensational. get the gist? aaaanyway miss ya and hope all is well. xoxo danielle p.s. dont go to china

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb