China-Time


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

That's right, folks, its China time. Literally, since its 13 hours ahead of NYC. Bleh. I just got here, in case any of you didn't know. The flight over went well. Picked up a cold before I left America, though, so I'm not doing too well with that. Bty, if you're flying long distances, buy 'no jet lag' pills. They work like a charm.

Jan, my german friend, directed me to stay at the Sanlitun hostel, near Gongren Stadium (a huge but rather unimpressive hunk o' metal). He knows his stuff. I arrived here after a long sub ride from the airport and a short, but fast and rather unsafe taxi ride. Wouldn't have it any other way, though. Anyway, Sanlitun Hostel is a super place. The quintessential, Chinese hostel. Everyone here is nice and the price is low. 300 kuai for a week, or, about $45. Only, I believe there are a number of westerners here with severe Asian fetishes. Its quite a sight to see. Anyway, the hostel is cheery and the residents are relaxed and friendly. My bed is cozy, and everyone here seems to respect the need for silence at night. Proly cuz by the time everyone gets to bed they're either tired out from sight seeing or utterly drunk and or hungover. Lol.

Pictures will follow of the hostel. The Chinese hostesses here have a puppy that delights guests...or me, anyway. Chinese pups are fluffier than you might expect, and bounce around with zeal, just like their American cousins. Wow.

Food here thusfar has consisted of an American Breakfast and a veggie baozhi, accompanied with soy milk and grapes. The total price for all this was certainly less than $4. I probably can get away with living for $7 here a day if I play my cards (or, should I say, kuai?) right. I love how cheap China is.

As for Beijing proper: I don't know, I've only just been here, but the city feels as though its just exploding with possibilities. I can't wait to get into the grime of this smoggy sprawl. That'll prolly begin today, unless my cold clobbers my energy. It feels like it will.

My Chinese skills are getting me somewhere. I'm surprised. But there's alot left for me to learn, obviously, so I can't wait to get started at Beida and really improve my Mandarin.

So, thusfar, having a great time. Save for the smog. Its just way too much. Really. But whatevs.

Pictures will follow once I get an adapter for the plugs here.

Cheers to all you in America, Korea, and China. I had a great flight over, and thanks, Trev, for all that X and Y. It was a primo time, mi amigo.

Zaijian ya'll.

-TAB

Advertisement



3rd September 2009

you sleep
so you now sleep while we not sleep. me think that we are only 11 hours from where you is. New Mexico USA is great place, put not many lights or smog!! :)
4th September 2009

hey
ok, i just figured out that i was getting comments from you. the taxi ride was just fast, that's all. beijing traffic is alot more loose than american traffic. i like that. anyway, my cold is getting better, and i brought ibuprofen with me from NYC. so, all's well. send me an email if u have any more questions! :) -TAB

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb