Day 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 26th 2009
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another Frame of ReferenceAnother Frame of ReferenceAnother Frame of Reference

Just in case I couldn't find my way back -- I went a different direction on this day than the day before.
It's been a full day today. I started with an early "American" breakfast at the hostel - 2 eggs, toast, bacon and sausage and of course, coffee. One of the other hostellers told me where an acupuncture clinic was and he was kind enough to draw me a map. That's where I headed at the beinning of the morning. It was probably about a mile away from the hostel and by the time I got there, my back was really hurting again. So, when I went in, I had a note written in Chinese that stated I wanted acupuncture. When I showed the note to a man in a white coat (he was obviously an Oriental Medicine doctor), he took my hand and led me into his clinic area. I pointed where my back hurt and he showed me his acupuncture table, indicating to lie down. After I made him show me sterile needles, I climbed on the table and he started the treatment.

It was really something to get an acupuncture treatment from a professional. I was truly trained in the same style as he was - he did what we call jia ji points - close to the
My DoctorMy DoctorMy Doctor

I would love to shadow him in his clinic. He did have a young intern with him.
spine at the low area of my back. The technique was very gentle, yet if I moved, I felt the needles more. It was an almost instant relief of the pain in my back. I laid on the table for about 30 minutes and he would stimuate the needles a bit. He also put some needles in the back of my knees - which is where I would have also put some needles. After he took the needles out, he did a bit of tui nai (somewhat like a massage) on my back. Then he showed me some cups - and did "cupping" on my back. I felt so good when I got up.

After the treatment, I walked all over that area of the city. I found myself in a specialized fur coat area. They were so pretty - I didn't even stop in to see the price, knowing before hand that I couldn't afford one. But they were beautiful.

I wound up in the "social market" where vendors were selling their wares inside an air conditioned building. This is were one haggles over the price of everything. I did buy a couple of silk scarves and
Herbal PhamarcyHerbal PhamarcyHerbal Phamarcy

Oh, to have one of these . . . .
since I don't haggle well, I'm sure I paid a premium price for them. But, the experience was fun, my back didn't hurt (as much) and I enjoyed eyeing all the goodies around me.

When I left the building, I turned to the area that I thought was homeward bound. Nothing looked familar, but that didn't stop me from walking around. I wound up on a busy street and stopped at a noodle shop - this shop was more in the line of a McDonald's hamburger place, except that they sold noodles. The staff recommended the most expensive thing in the place, of and course I bought it. Steamed noodles - enough for me to take home to have a mid-afternoon snack.

On the treck home, I got tired, was lost and just didn't feel like walking any more. I had left the hostel around 9:30 am and it was 3:00ish - time to get a taxi, hand him the address of my hostel and get some much needed rest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The ClinicThe Clinic
The Clinic

Maybe that's what I need to show -- show the portrait of everyone who works in my clnic . . .
A Chinese HospitalA Chinese Hospital
A Chinese Hospital

The hospital is also close to the clinic. I probably had two choice, but would much rather go to a clinic than to the hospital.
All the buildings go upAll the buildings go up
All the buildings go up

Beijing will have a hutong on one side of the street and a 40 story building on the other . . .
A Chain Noodles ShopA Chain Noodles Shop
A Chain Noodles Shop

The young waitresses were kind enough to pose for a picture.
Fur CoatsFur Coats
Fur Coats

I was surprised to find fur coats for sale. They were absolutely gorgeous.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb