118 118


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 14th 2009
Published: May 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

10:44am Beijing time - The title of this post is not in

reference to the extremely useful but expensive telephone

service and sponsors of the Simpsons on Channel 4 (totally

pointless fact for now but put that in the pub quiz fact bank),

but rather in reference to how many days I now have remaining

here in China. Not 118,118 as that would mean that I would not

be back in England for 323.5 years, but 118 days. This is

roughly just over a third of my time here and I am starting to

wake up to the fact that I should probably apply myself to

achieving the actual purpose of this trip. Thus I woke up early

this morning thinking of a fresh start only to find out that

class wasn't for another 4 hours. It takes more than that to

keep a new man down though so instead of Chinese I have gone

about updating this fair blog and uploading some photos (which

are available for the viewing pleasure for those of you who have

access to my facebook page, and for those who don't 'tough

titty', as they say).

Anyhow, in the two weeks since I last ventured onto this page I

can't say I have done anything of particular worth. Oh, except

Teppanyakki. This was my first experience with said dining

experience and for 170 Yuan (or £17) you are treated to the

finest seafood, stake, vegetable, and alcohol experience. You

can literally eat and drink as much as you please whilst it is

cooked to perfection in front of you by someone who must

literally be sickened by the gluttony and drunkenness of the fat

Westerners before him. Alas, rather him than me! This food

extravaganza pretty much paralysed me for the rest of the

Saturday night, and Sunday morning, and afternoon, and Monday.

We have been busy with tests and whatnot so there is not a great

amount to write about. We are pretty much settled into life here

so nothings exciting particularly happens during the weeks

unless you would like a lowdown on our pub exploits, and the

weekends are starting to blur into one another. I need to get

out of Beijing for a day or two I think.

Oh and it is starting to get really, really hot now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb