First stop....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
January 28th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm finally off on my trip. After an eleven hour flight I landed in a rather smoggy (as in can't see anything) Beijing. I was amazed to discover that, at least in the winter, you can fly from Vancouver to Beijing without going over water... just a lot of ice. As tomorrow is the Chinese New Year's celebration, there are tons of fireworks and firecrackers going off outside. Apparently this is the first year that firecrackers are not illegal and everyone seems to be taking full advantage. So far I haven't really seen or done much except make my way to my friend Caroline's apartment and go grocery shopping. I can already tell that english speakers are quite lacking here.
Just wanted to do a quick "I made it to China" posting. And now food and shower and maybe a quick wander. More to come later after some sleep... when I don't have to ask Caroline how to spell...

Advertisement



28th January 2006

As a more recent Chineese saying goes-A thousand miles journey begins with 11 hour flight. Have a great time
28th January 2006

glad to see you managed to navigate the rigours of the luggage claim and to get where you were going...don't sleep through the new year!
29th January 2006

hi dear nicole i wish you have a great time there and you enjoy your stay in Asia.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb