About to leave Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
November 17th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Natural HIstory MuseumNatural HIstory MuseumNatural HIstory Museum

Renee and I in front of the wooly mammoth. Shortly after taking this picture, a mother encouraged her child to step inside the exhibit so she could get a better picture. This happens often through out the museum. They let their kids do anything!
Having completed my required 180 hours about two weeks ago, I've actually been getting paid to work and have been able to save some extra money for traveling. I leave for Hong Kong this Saturday and from there I have three weeks to explore other parts of China. The problem is, I can't seem to make a decision. This country is entirely too big. Every time I read about someplace new I try to fit it into my route. I finally took a break and tried to calculate how long my latest route would take, and I'd need about two months. Oh, well. By this time next week I'll be on my way and have some good pictures to show as well. Let's just hope I run into a few English speakers. Apparently the sorry bit of Mandarin I do know won't be of much help in the South.

All in all, my last month in Beijing has been pretty spectacular. I moved into a new apartment, sans cockroaches (and messy boys). My new flat mates are wonderful and I my new neighborhood has a lot more character than before. There are far fewer foreigners, many more street vendors, and
WanfujingWanfujingWanfujing

My brothers first request upon arriving in Beijing, "I wanna eat some really weird s***."
lots of great Korean BBQ restaurants. It's been nice getting to know a new part of the city outside the CBD (Central Business District).

Also, my family came to visit this month! I got to introduce them to all my friends and I finally had someone in China that I could talk about football with.....I mean the real kind of football. Paul got in first and we immediately headed to Wangfujing to eat random food on a stick. A friend of mine met us, and between the three of us we tried everything from scorpion to lamb balls (so they claimed anyway) and fried beetles to snake. The snake was actually the hardest to get down. It just did NOT taste like something a person should eat.

I finally saw the most famous monuments and sights in Beijing. Their second day in town was pretty long, but the places we visited were very impressive. Just so you know, you can visit the Temple of Heaven, Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and the Summer Palace, (plus squeeze in some silk shopping on the side) all within a 10 hour period. But if you're in Beijing and have a few
WanfujingWanfujingWanfujing

Scorpion or bug? I'm not sure. I did not plan on eating it, but at 25 I'm still susceptible to peer pressure.
days, I'd recommend that you spread it out.

My company was kind enough to give me a few days off, so I also traveled to Xi'an with my family to see the world famous Terracotta Warriors. The pictures do not do it justice, but it gives you an idea. Interesting fact, all the warriors intact today have been reconstructed. I can't imagine how long that takes! Also, construction of this underground imperial army began when the emperor was just 13 years old. (My own country, as I know it now, was established well over a thousand years later.)

Since they left I've returned to my normal, six days a week work schedule. This week has been kinda' of sad because I've had to say goodbye to all my students. Everyone asks if I'll be returning after Christmas and I'm completely honest when I say I just don't know. Most days I think for sure I want to return after the New Year. I would have a steady job that I actually enjoy, I've made several friends and connections so it feels more like home, and I've gotten to know the city pretty well. But on other days, when I wake up and it's so smoggy I can't see the tops of the buildings, and/or it's so cold my face goes numb on the walk to the bus stop, I think maybe it's time for someplace new. Whether I come back to Beijing or not, this has been, without a doubt, a fantastic experience.

I'll try to write more while traveling and post some more pics. I can't wait to see everyone at home in December!





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Tiananmen SquareTiananmen Square
Tiananmen Square

Me, Mao, and the Gate of Heavenly Peace
Tiananmen SquareTiananmen Square
Tiananmen Square

My brother, always trying to blend in with the locals. After meeting him, all my Chinese friends couldn't stop talking about his mustache.
Inside Forbidden CityInside Forbidden City
Inside Forbidden City

You can spot Paul (yellow jacket) and my mom next to him with our guide. This crowd is relatively small compared to others I've experienced while sight seeing. It's what all the beautifully designed advertisements and expensive TV commercials do NOT show you.
Summer PalaceSummer Palace
Summer Palace

It was very cold, but a great time to visit while all the leaves were changing.
Summer PalaceSummer Palace
Summer Palace

Very cold and windy, definitely meant for the summer time, but still beautiful.
Summer PalaceSummer Palace
Summer Palace

There are 14,000 hand painted pictures on each side of these crossbeams. I'm not sure exactly how long the walkway is, but it was built for the empress to stroll in the shade.
Xi'anXi'an
Xi'an

Terracotta warriors
Xi'anXi'an
Xi'an

Mom and I infront of one of the "pits" of terracotta warriors.
Xi'anXi'an
Xi'an

And more warriors...


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb