Chasing the Sun: On my way to China!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Out the windowOut the windowOut the window

View of the California coast as we headed north to Alaska and then across the Pacific.
I headed out to China today for the last part of my EMBA program at UCLA. What should have been a simple trip to the airport resulted in nearly missing my flight. There was a bomb scare at the International terminal (terminal 5?) at LAX and they shut down all entry to the airport just as we were arriving there around 11:00 am. Traffic was a mess and we drove around for a while hoping that entry would be opened soon. It wasn't. We ended up going to the In and Out Burger on Sepulveda and grabbing some lunch. There were fire trucks and police all over the place. Finally it appeared that they were letting people back in and we started to fight the traffic towards the terminals.

I had a 1:20 pm flight and it was getting close to 1:00 pm. We were able to get to temrinal one but access to the other terminals was still closed. I had to jump out of the car, grab my stuff, quick hugs and kisses good-bye to everyone and run down to terminal 2. It was like that old commercial with OJ Simpson running through the terminal except that I
Japanese CoastlineJapanese CoastlineJapanese Coastline

View of Japan as we descended for landing.
was outside and had a huge suitcase. It was oddly empty in the terminal so I was able to breeze through check-in and security and get to my gate just as they were boarding.

I flew from LA to Tokyo on what was a pretty long flight (10.5 hours). I was sooooo glad that I used all my Northwest miles to upgrade my seat to business class and it made the flight much more enjoyable. I only slept a little, but the flight was at least pretty smooth and sitting in the upper deck of the 747 was neat.

We landed in Tokyo the afternoon July 3rd. It was very hot there and not much in the way of AC in the airport. I had a short layover and found the Northwest club lounge a great place to relax in. A little sushi, a beer and some free internet made it the perfect layover. One note about the airport itself; it was immaculate and very orderly inside and out. It looked as if it had been kaizen'ed.

The flight to Bejing was "short" about 4 hours. At this point I was starting to get pretty tired but forced myself to stay awake. I wanted to be able to crash at my hotel in Beijing and start adjusting to the local time. The flight was good and going through customs was quick and easy. I was supposed to meet one of my classmates in the airport who was on a different flight getting in at about the same time. It turned out we were in different terminals so I grabbed a cab to get to the hotel. The cabbie didn't speak English and I forgot to bring the hotel name and address in Chinese. I had been told that all the drivers would know the Penninsula hotel, but this one didn't. I did have the hotel's phone number so we made a call an got directions.

Beijing was hot and humid at 10:30 pm. In the 5 minutes I had to wait for a cab I was dripping wet. The air quality is not the greatest either. Flying in, the lights below looked orange through the smog. A lot of effort has been made to clean up for the Games and I'm sure it has been an improvement. It's just amazing to think what it was like
Dinner!Dinner!Dinner!

Bento-box style meal on the flight from Japan to Beijing.
before the clean up efforts were made and I wonder what will happen after the Games.

Got to the hotel, checked in, called home to let Kristina know I made it and then crashed. I spent the entire day chasing the sun as it headed west and I was ready for sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Home away from home!Home away from home!
Home away from home!

A welcome sight at the end of a long trip.
The Penninsula HotelThe Penninsula Hotel
The Penninsula Hotel

External view of the hotel
Going local!Going local!
Going local!

Getting ready to bicycle around Beijing with some friends.
Inside the Forbidden CityInside the Forbidden City
Inside the Forbidden City

Note the soldiers in the background.
Tian'an MenTian'an Men
Tian'an Men

Ming dynasty gate where Mao proclaimed the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949.
Tian'an Men SqareTian'an Men Sqare
Tian'an Men Sqare

View from across the street
Great Hall of the PeopleGreat Hall of the People
Great Hall of the People

Seat of the Chinese Legislature
At Mao's MausoleumAt Mao's Mausoleum
At Mao's Mausoleum

He's inside embalmed and on display.
Lining up to see MaoLining up to see Mao
Lining up to see Mao

Statue depicting revolutionaries in the background.
Countdown to the Olympics!Countdown to the Olympics!
Countdown to the Olympics!

Countdown clock in Tian'an Men Square sponsored by Omega.
At the Qian Men GateAt the Qian Men Gate
At the Qian Men Gate

At the south end of Tian'an Men Square
No Trumpets!No Trumpets!
No Trumpets!

I think the mean no honking the horn. I don't think you can drive in Beijing without laying on the horn every 5 minutes.
National Performing Arts CenterNational Performing Arts Center
National Performing Arts Center

Near the Forbidden City
View from Jing Shan's summitView from Jing Shan's summit
View from Jing Shan's summit

In Jing Shan park there's a huge hill with the Wancheng Pavilion on the top. The emperor Jing Shan hung himself here, but not before killing his daughter and concubines to "escape" invading hordes in 1644.
Entrance to Jing Shan ParkEntrance to Jing Shan Park
Entrance to Jing Shan Park

It was quite a climb up the hill to reach summit in the background, but worth it.
Ceiling of the Wancheng PavilionCeiling of the Wancheng Pavilion
Ceiling of the Wancheng Pavilion

At the summit of Jing Shan Park
I needed a fan!I needed a fan!
I needed a fan!

It was so hot today. We wanted to stay on our bikes and ride rather than walk. At least riding created a breeze.
Tour de Beijing riders!Tour de Beijing riders!
Tour de Beijing riders!

Rhonda, Jane, Rochelle and myself back at the hotel after a morning of riding around the city.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb