The Arobats, the Airport and more


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is my last email from Beijing. I hope you aren't disappointed although Lauren said you will be happy to stop receiving the 'spam'.


The Chinese have an interesting and quite EFFECTIVE way of handling their utilities. Most of you will be staying in hotels, so this won't be an issue however if you are lucky enough to stay with a resident as I have, this is poignant information. You prepay for your electricity and water. You put money on your account in the office of the apartment complex. You buy a certain amount of electric and "hot" water, not all water, just the hot water. I bet you can't guess who the hot water ran out on! Yes, you're right, me. About 30 seconds into my shower the hot water just ran out, Lauren was still sleeping when this occurred but I don't think I will loose any of my enthusiasm in telling the story when she wakes up. Hostess minus 10 points.

Lauren and I went into the big supermarket by her apartment today, and when I say "by" I mean about 5 long blocks. The place was the size of Albertson's with a few differences. In the meat department there were some items packaged but the bulk of the meat and fish (with heads and eyes) are just laid in the bins for you to touch, inspect and choose the exact cuts of meat/fish you want. It provides quite a different aroma that way, not the bleach smell of American meat departments. Also, I don't think any of you, other than my kids, have seen one of my shopping carts when I finish shopping at Albertson's, but I am sure if any of these Chinese people did, they would comment on why westerners are so big. I did not see one cart with even the whole bottom of it covered with groceries. Apparently they love to come back and love their food fresh. P.S. The caviar was only $8.50 a jar here!!! I don't eat it myself but was still impressed.

RANDOM NOTES: 1. While you are here, something to be aware of..... the word for 4/four sounds like the word for "death" in Chinese, so there are no 4th or 14th floors. They should have thought through that a little better. 2.The locals like to walk with umbrellas when it is not raining, to protect them from the sun. This could explain why it is difficult sometimes to determine their ages. Just trying to help out.

Today for lunch we went to a Sushi restaurant. Naturally, all of the cooks and waitresses were Chinese but the food was great. Lauren got me to try eel (taste sort of like sardines). I am very proud of me, but that is not the point of this story. Lauren ordered a few items and then Sebastian ordered and was trying to pick one more dish and the waitress smiled and said something to them. I asked for a translation, and Lauren said the waitress told them that was enough food! You believe that? She said it was too much food already. NEVER IN AMERICA. That really cracked me up. Just so you know, Sebastian still ordered another dish and don't you worry, we finished it all, just to spite her.

After lunch, Lauren and I went to a Chinese Acrobat show. It was only an hour show but it was so INCREDIBLE, catch a show while you are here.

I know you will find this hard to believe but there are actually additional things I have experienced that have not made it to the emails. I hope to share those stories with you later however you have gotten a pretty good dose of my experience. I thank you for suffering, I mean experiencing, it all with me.

I considered getting you a small souvenir from my journey to China but felt my travel tips to China were the best gift I could impart to you, besides I am confident that you can buy these same souvenirs in the states and would never dream of owning them anyway, one final.......you're welcome. I hope to see you soon.


Final tip, Lauren tells me as I pack to leave. It is assumed that everyone knows that whatever amount the taxi driver has on his meter when coming from or going to the airport you add 10 to it because he has to pay a toll either way. OK, envision me, taking the taxi back to the airport alone and I pay him what is on the meter and he starts arguing with me in Chinese to pay another 10, being savvy now from my Chinese culture lessons from Lauren, I would have assumed he was hustling me, but now WE know, don't we.
Love,
Karen


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb