the best laid plans... and photos of beijing streets


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 3rd 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

ya think?ya think?ya think?

beijing mantra
1st post
tuesday
3 june 2008

I just found out that my posts aren't going in order, so putting "1st post, 2nd post" tags on them for each day that I write.

Well, my plans have been thwarted for the day. The plan has been to get up and go take my camera and be a tourist in this area so y'all could see where I'm living, etc.

But it's raining.

Which means that when the rain stops, the sky will be beauuuuuutiful and clear! Yay acid rain? Hopefully it will stop this afternoon or evening and the light will be good and I can go be photographer extraordinaire.

PS. Yuck! According to weather.com, it's going to be raining and storming all the way until Saturday! It's only Tuesday!

blargh.

***

17:00ish Stopped raining this afternoon while I was at the Bookworm. Two things I'm glad I brought: my tennis shoes, and my rain coat.

Took some photos a bit ago and will post them here.

Have been talking a lot with native Beijinger A**, one of my roommates. Interesting stories about life in Saudi to come later.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

yongli constructionyongli construction
yongli construction

hole in the world outside my hostel window
chun xiu luchun xiu lu
chun xiu lu

the street where the hostel is located
yongli panelsyongli panels
yongli panels

what the construction site looks like from the street, massive walls all around the block!
street sign and taxisstreet sign and taxis
street sign and taxis

sunlitun youth hostel
the denthe den
the den

rugby bar [amid more construction]
different hole in the grounddifferent hole in the ground
different hole in the ground

southwest corner of gongti and sunlitun south
yashou marketyashou market
yashou market

walking across the flyover
new adidasnew adidas
new adidas

northwest corner of gongti and sunlitun north
dad this is for you!dad this is for you!
dad this is for you!

recognise the emblem? same as your hat from 6 years ago
uniqlouniqlo
uniqlo

the weird orangeness on the corner of gongti and sunlitun north, next to adidas new complex
NW gongti & sunlitunNW gongti & sunlitun
NW gongti & sunlitun

all new stuff since i left a year ago. next down the line is yashou
china postchina post
china post

mail getting ready to be loaded
typical street crossing scenetypical street crossing scene
typical street crossing scene

everyone crossing the street and turning all at once... typical
new front windowsnew front windows
new front windows

hostel is also under construction and they've finally finished the new front windows and cleaned up a bit.
hostel is open!hostel is open!
hostel is open!

sign to let people know that through all the construction there is an hostel!
my hostel bedroommy hostel bedroom
my hostel bedroom

my bed is the bottom bunk on the left. A** is the bottom on the right. notice the feet on the bottom bunk in front of mine? those are the feet of the chinese roommate who never leaves!


Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb