Beijing Here I Come!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 1st 2008
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: cold 7 secs
Beijing AirportBeijing AirportBeijing Airport

waiting for my luggage
“It the journey that count -- not the destination”

DAY ONE 23th Mar 2008

I reached Beijing Airport on 0605am early in the morning. The custom officer have a second look on my passport photo and commend i am fatter now, he even joked that the photo was my younger brother.

After exiting from the hall, i was taken back by the rushing of a so called tout drivers. One of them took my luggage and later passed me a small plastic card, stating ride to beijing city costed 500 RMB. i rejected them and continue to smoke and look around. A policecar passed by and all those people ran away real fast but back again. One of them asked me for RMB 200R which i agreed and later knew it only costed less than RMB 100 to reach my hotel!

When the taxi reached my hotel, i was surprise to know it was under renovation. It was quite a neat room but darn, they put me in a no-smoking floor. i took a break and saw that Journy to the West was still showing as i rem whenever i went to ShenZhen for work, this show was still airing.

The first place i went is to WangFujin Dajie. It is a shopping area with many retails such as Adiddas, Hugo Boss etc. I went to have my lunch and catch a movie at 25RMB. (That the price before noon, afternoon will be RMB 60). The movie was darn pitch dark which i cannot see anything.Not to say find my sit. I hang around the area for the rest of the day relaxing.(books price was real cheap-of cos its chinese book, english books were slighty higher)

DAY TWO 24th March 2008

I woke up quite late around 9am and rem that the hotel breakfast close at 9.30am. The breakfast was buffet style and i was the only one. It serves bun, fried rice and many vegetables. i do not like the food. Never have my breakfast in this hotel since. My first destination was to TianAnMen and Forbidden city. i walked there from my hotel with my map and it took me 45-1 hr time. I enjoy the walk.

When i am in TianAnMen, i was very happy as i often saw the place on TV news. With the Mao Zhe Tong portrait, i begin to went pass and into the Forbidden city. The entrance fee was RMB 40 dollars. I gained valuable knowledge knowing Forbidden city was the palace for the Qing and Ming emperors.. i spent whole afternoon there and due to the cold weather i get hungry easily. Around 430pm , we were all asked to leave.... i went back to wangfujin dajie to settle my dinner and have KFC which cost RMB 15 for a complete meal.. cheap... dont ask me why i have KFC... cos that time i have craving for fried chicken... yummy! On my way back to hotel, i was approached by guys asking if i need any massage or ktv but i turned them down... sure kana chop if i have agreed. I slept very late till 3-4am watching all China cctv in my room, esp the TV advertisement selling diamond darn cheap... about 2500 -4000 RMB... for 1 carat .

DAY THREE 25th March 2008

Woke up darn late nearly 11am... i made my way to Dongzhimen Dajie walking..It was much colder than yesterday. I spent about whole afternoon there and took a public bus back to my hotel at about 1 RMB. The public bus was ok and not what i expected to be dirty and crowded. When i am back in the hotel, i complaint about the paint smell and they change the room for me. Around evening time, i decided to go to BEIJING famous GT banana club. i took a cab to there costing about RMB 15 and entrance RMB 30. It was still early when i reached there at 830pm and i was told the crowd will started around 10pm

I sat down alone and enjoying the techno trance and girls start coming to me asking me if i was lonely and needed someone to chat. i rejected them politely. At about 10pm, the fun begin... the dance floor was not that big but everyone was jumping and dancing. Man, i saw a plump ger dancing like a queen, i amired her courage despite her size... i stayed past midnight and rem i need to be in the Airport to fetch my TRUE queen at 6am.

DAY FOUR 26th March 2008

For sleeping less than 2 hr, i walked into the cold street at about 0515am in the morning to take a cab. I make friend with Mr. Meng the cab driver, and he is a very nice guy. He acted as a tour guide to me and i hired him for back trip to hotel too.I bough KFC for him in the airport. I saw my dear at 7am and i took her to Wanfujin street for shopping. Shopping to her was like in paradise and we nearly spend the whole day over there. When walking back to hotel, i told her about been asked for massage etc, and she walked behind me to observe. I was approached and she use her GongFu tucking into my arms and hurried me back to hotel :P. This day is basically shopping and shopping.

DAY FIVE 27th March 2008

I bought her to see TianAnMen and forbidden city (2nd times for me but i dont mind). Instead of walking, we took bus.. saving the time. We were approached by many travel agent handing out flyers and a one day tour cost 80RMB per pax. I signed up for it for the next day planning as we wabt was to climb the Great Wall.

We spent the whole afternoon there and at night we went to the street stall for dinner. We have lamb stick, fried noddles but there are no seats, so we have to stand. I saw a young modern lady eating squading down, very kilang.

We then spent time shopping again! -_-"

DAY SIX 28th March 2008

We were woke up by the room call from the travel agent. The travel guide required us to walk to a nearby place for their bus ..(supposed to be pick?)..There was a china couple sitting behind us very funny, think that guy was tackling this girl and talk non stop, making me could not hear what the tour guide was saying. Then this guys played his Hp tone which was like the moaning of a ger...... i was laughing...


When we reached there , we noticed we were the only one from foeign country, the rests were locals. For the first stop, we went to Badaling Great Walk.Man!, finally after 29 years i climbed the Great Wall! Both of us climbed up only to know that the steps were darn steep and high. We were almost out of breath and mic nose was so red... like clown! lol!

Next we went to the 13 Ming Emperor Tomb. We went to vist the 12th Ming Emperor Tomb and there was a place where we stood which had 2700 people been buried under our foot.... We were told it was the builders, which initially had their tongue cut to stop them for talking or leaking the treasures. When the tomb was completed, they were all killed.

We were then taken for a simple luch which have only one fish and many vegetables. I liked one of the vegatable but not sure what it was.


Next we went to some jade place and bought a jade cup about RMB 320. Then we went to some food and medicine place.. THE FLYERS SAID NO shopping and all sighseeing ....all bullshit. The the couple behind us kept complaining with the guide and the driver stopped the bus and let them off... along a remote road....Oo.... Our last Stop was called Bai Xian Shen Dong..(deity caves).. let me tell you, it should be called heng fong dong...(black caves). Inside there are many statue of Buddha, Deity etc.. Then we were asked to enter a room. There was this monk took my palm reading and asked for RMB 9990. I told him i no money, when he saw my card, he said can swipe card. WTF.. inside cave can used credit card? i paid RMB 300 for 2 candle light (like zhao ming dei) only.

About nightime , the bus did not took us back to hotel but drop everyone at near TianAnMen. It was ok for me as we can have dinner nearby. it cost about 170 RMB per person, but i find it is still worth it as the cab price to Great Wall costs RMB 400 already.

DAY SEVEN 29th March 2008

We woke up and proceed to check out and we have a talk with a african.We share our experience about yesterday trip with them. They were laughing loud when they heard credit card can be use in cave! I took a cab and ask for Beijing Zoo but was told the zoo have shifted. The lady cab driver was very kind. She told us to go LIDAIWANGDI temple. In CHINA fengsui, the great wall was said to be the dragon tail, forbidden city was the body and the head was this temple. We paid RMB 60 for this visit and we get to see the first Chinese Ancestor. We get to check our surname origin too. All JIAPU can also be find here. After the visit we went to XIDAN street for last minute shopping.
I recommend the shopping here as it is definitely cheaper and have much more varieties .Price can be bargain. Use this formula, the price they ask for then divide by 2 . We then went back to hotel for packing. Before going to Airport, i took my girl for leg washing. It was very comfortable. i also bough few Buddhism books...this trip triggered my interests...

I definitely enjoy myself and look forward for next trip!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

ClockClock
Clock

know the time based on sunlight
Public BusPublic Bus
Public Bus

Public Bus - RMB 1
Great WallGreat Wall
Great Wall

Great Wall - Badaling.. shag..
Great WallGreat Wall
Great Wall

Nice View
emperor lifeemperor life
emperor life

Paid about rmb 20 u can be a emperor for short


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb